Let Your Glory Fall

Standard

Two days ago I sat in my prayer chair reading scripture out loud.  I said these words to the Lord, “ I want to see your face, show me your glory.”  They are the words of Moses in Exodus 33:12-13.

12 Then Moses said to the Lord, “See, You say to me, ‘Bring up this people.’ But You have not let me know whom You will send with me. Yet You have said, ‘I know you by name, and you have also found grace in My sight.’ 13 Now therefore, I pray, if I have found grace in Your sight, show me now Your way, that I may know You and that I may find grace in Your sight. And consider that this nation is Your people.”

14 And He said, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

15 Then he said to Him, “If Your Presence does not go with us, do not bring us up from here. 16 For how then will it be known that Your people and I have found grace in Your sight, except You go with us? So we shall be separate, Your people and I, from all the people who are upon the face of the earth.”

17 So the Lord said to Moses, “I will also do this thing that you have spoken; for you have found grace in My sight, and I know you by name.”

18 And he said, “Please, show me Your glory.”

19 Then He said, “I will make all My goodness pass before you, and I will proclaim the name of the Lord before you. I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.” 20 But He said, “You cannot see My face; for no man shall see Me, and live.”21 And the Lord said, “Here is a place by Me, and you shall stand on the rock. 22 So it shall be, while My glory passes by, that I will put you in the cleft of the rock, and will cover you with My hand while I pass by. 23 Then I will take away My hand, and you shall see My back; but My face shall not be seen.”

Yesterday was my 52nd birthday.  Something amazing happened that I cannot put into words.  The only way to explain it is to say that I HAVE walked through a new door into a new day.  A friend has been painting like crazy and in each painting I have seen the glory of the Lord.  The Lord has spoken to ME through each of her pieces and it is as if she is sitting right in the middle of my heart.  I know that the Spirit of the Lord is speaking to her as she creates.  I see it, I feel it, I am experiencing it.  Once again, He has flipped it on me to show me what happens when He speaks through art.  I am usually the one creating and sharing as He leads and I understand how He speaks and touches me as I create, but to be on the receiving end of this great gift gives me new eyes and ears and a greater understanding of the whole picture.  This happened to me many months ago when another friend painted each member of my family a prophetic painting, brought them to us, and then shared the Word of the Lord with us.  Powerful, profound and and life giving.  We are living what the Lord spoke to her through the paintings.  All I can is that if you are reading this and you are hearing from the Lord-then speak it, paint it, create it, write it, sing it, dance it-do it.  Whatever he tells you to do –just do it.  He longs to give others life through you. 

This has been a wild year of amazing growth and maturity for me in the Lord.  I have often felt like I am on a rollercoaster tunnel ride in the dark.  Exciting, exhilarating, a little scary and very unknown.  Unknown to me, but not to the Lord!    As I travel up and down and round and round the light of His face grows brighter and brighter with each day.  We wake up every morning to a new day DAWNING and this morning when I got up and saw this painting that my friend had done in the wee hours of the morning- all I could say was “Let your glory fall….” 

Dawn glory

Here’s the thing- it took another friend to take me by the hand and say, “ come fly with Us…” and let’s go to the deep places of God through abstract art.  Let go and let God!  I have prayed for new ears and eyes everyday and I have been granted that request.  In my friends faith I have jumped into His glory and not only do I now see things in the paint, I have been given greater hearing, discernment and wisdom in life.  Looking deeper into the paint has shown me how to look deeper in life-to hear, see and discern what is really going on in people’s lives.  It has given me greater clarity and has increased my prayer life a thousand fold.  The Lord has spoken very clearly to me all year long about working in layers.  He has taught me to paint in layers and to see Him in each one.  The depth of His love is unfathomable.  He is in every single detail of life.  All of it.  Painting with my eyes closed has taken me out of the picture and He has shown me that while my eyes are closed he is in control-not me.  When I open my eyes and see Him….then I know it was all HIM and none of me.  This is HIS glory!  Thank you Lord! 

So, when I look at this painting that’s what I see…I am this little blue person in the right upper corner-running through His covenant blood and into His glory…” let Your glory fall, Lord.  You have shown me Your glory, you have answered my prayer, once again, in a very profound way through the hands of your daughter, painter, and minister of art. I bow my heart, body and mind to you this morning out of great love and deep reverence.  Thank you….Lord…thank you…”

forever yours,

me

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

