Emmanuel-God with us

Standard

 

“Be still, and know that I am God!
I will be honored by every nation.
I will be honored throughout the world.”

Psalm 46:10

Pat farrells dog

 

This is my friend’s dog.  He has found a nice warm spot to rest in the sun.

When I saw this I was reminded by the Holy Spirit to take time to rest in the Son.

This is such a busy time of year with a flutter of activities.  Some lead us to the King of Creation and some lead us away.  Let us be ever mindful of the activities we choose as we celebrate the Coming of Christ the King-both in remembrance of His birth and in our future Hope and Home with Him. 

It’s not about us, but all about Him. 

Our Emmanuel.

God with us. 

He honored us by coming to earth as a baby and we, in turn, honor Him by resting in His Presence.  He is always with us but we are not always with Him in the choices we make.  There is much forgiveness, mercy and grace in His love for us and that is what compels me to want to devote more time to Him.  I know what I’ve done and how much I have been forgiven and for this I am eternally grateful.  My thank you is my ‘yes, Lord.” 

So, as we go about our daily lives let us ask ourselves if what we are doing is holy- as in- will this honor the King?  We are called to live transformed lives for the Most Holy One and that means being mindful of all that we do, say and think.  

Romans 12:1-2 

And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him. 2 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.

When we take time to rest in Him, like my friend’s dog, then we become refreshed and renewed and we can somehow hear and see a bit better than we could before.  We see the error of our ways and we ask for forgiveness.   We also hear “follow me…my love endures forever….”

My friends dog looks so comfy, doesn’t he?  All curled up and dreaming doggie dreams!  Let me encourage you today to take some time and be still with the Lord.  Let Him wrap you up in His embrace and just rest there for awhile.  That’s all he really wants from us-is our presence with His, just like the dog here….

Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me. John 15:4

May you be blessed with abundant fruitfulness as you remain in Him…

May you hear His still small voice and see the light of His eyes looking back at you!

May you be filled to overflowing with His glorious love.

Amen

blessings and enjoy!  d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

