The Cave of New Beginnings

Standard

alcohol ink Mary

hi!!

I have been listening to the song

‘Overflow” by Nic and Rachel Billman.

http://store.shoresmusic.com/download.php?id=02c14ff4e3bde8ea38232f497ca33f00

My heart is full….

The first few lines of the song go like this…

“ I am a vessel…you are the river,

come and fill me now I pray.

Broken I am and broken I come.

Mold me and make me as you desire…”

 

Mold me and make me as you desire.

alcohol ink Mary

The season of Advent is upon us like a mother pregnant with child. 

Mary comes to mind.

It is a time of new beginnings.  It is a season of new life in a land that sometimes seems barren and void.  When winter comes upon this earth I often groan and move inward to my cave of darkness.  It is a season that I have not embraced.  The sun seems to disappear and the world feels dark and chaotic, much how I perceive the universe pre- Genesis. 

Plainly put- I do not like winter at all.

I’ve been asking the Lord about all of that and I can feel the prayers of friends going up as we discuss things like the cave of solitude, darkness, devotion, reverence, holiness, and the awe and wonder of winter.  I’ve started to see with new eyes and this year I am getting excited about winter and what the Lord wants to reveal to us through the world around us.  It is a time when we slow down, listen and spend time with the Lord just being still. 

Elijah shows us how to do it.

1 Kings 19:11-13

11 “Go out and stand before me on the mountain,” the Lord told him. And as Elijah stood there, the Lord passed by, and a mighty windstorm hit the mountain. It was such a terrible blast that the rocks were torn loose, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. 12 And after the earthquake there was a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire there was the sound of a gentle whisper. 13 When Elijah heard it, he wrapped his face in his cloak and went out and stood at the entrance of the cave.

A gentle whisper from the Lord God Almighty.

I believe that Mary heard the gentle whisper of the Lord God Almighty as he called her to attention and filled her belly with purpose, wisdom, revelation and knowledge.  Her belly was filled with Life and He was the One that would bring salvation to those who chose (and choose) to embrace Him. She carried our eternal destiny, our new beginning, deep inside of her being, like a river that flows from within the depths of the earth.

This song…

it says…

“ I am a vessel, you are the river, come and fill me now I pray…”

Mary was filled with the Giver of Life-the river Himself.  She was filled with the overflow of life and joy unspeakable.  Is it no wonder she sang a song of praise to all of creation?  She was carrying the river of life deep within her womb.

When I began to listen to this song,

that’s all I could see was Mary…carrying Jesus-the Light of the world in her belly. 

alcohol ink Mary

Jesus tells us in John 7:37-38

“Anyone who is thirsty may come to me!

38 Anyone who believes in me may come and drink! For the Scriptures declare,

‘Rivers of living water will flow from his heart.’”

I didn’t know what was going to come out of the ink bottle and I know the spirit of the Lord was upon me as I created.  I felt such emotion and love rising from my own belly and my eyes filled with tears,several times, as I too pondered what the Lord was speaking to my heart.

“ There is still healing to come, Donna. “

…more tears…holy weeping comes and goes in these times of worship through creativity….

I need to take time to drink from the river….

He is calling me to the cave.  He wants me to embrace all of the seasons-not just the ones I like.  There is a plan and purpose for each one and I should look UP and see the river that is flowing from heaven to earth.  ALL OF IT!  He wants me to sing praises, to worship and just be still and listen.  It is a time of reflection and hearing His still small voice.  To look inward with His eyes and not my own.  To see what He sees and not what I don’t. 

To be molded and made into what He desires and not the world.

To let go of any and all fear…

Isn’t this what Mary did?  She had a tender and willing heart that was filled with love for her Father. 

In the painting- this is Mary standing in the “cave of new beginnings.”   It could be anyone really- you or me.  She is wide eyed with wonder and pregnant with purpose.  She is overflowing with life, light and glory! 

She is calling us to embrace every season just as she did, with devotion, honor, trust and reverence to the Lord.  She is saying, “ Lift up your head and raise your eyes to the heavens!  Look up and see the Love that came down and filled us to overflowing! Drink deep!  Drink often! “ 

“ I am a vessel

you are the river

come and fill me now I pray….”

alcohol ink Mary

 

Advent means “the coming or arrival, especially of something extremely important.”

As we look forward to His arrival in our lives, I bless your season of Advent with a fresh outlook and outpouring from the Lord of Heaven and Earth!  

“ Your Kingdom come…Your will be done…”

on earth as it is heaven…”

Amen

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

