Breaking through to freedom

Standard
My exploding heart is in His hands. 
DSCF4667
This is my first attempt at using “alcohol ink” on vellum paper. It is totally freeing. The only thing I have to consider is the color and placement. This has been another week of breakthrough for me in letting go of myself. 
When I paint I plan.  It’s like a roadmap.  There’s nothing wrong with planning.   At this stage in my journey the Lord is asking me to let go of my mind and take on His in every way, shape, and form.  For someone who loves straight lines and making things ‘just so” on the canvas this has been an interesting road trip!
DSCF4656
It began when my friend visited me several months ago and she took my hand and we did the “Soul Dance” with the brush.  She pushed me and taught me to trust and to see beyond the canvas, to paint outside the edges of my mind.  A spark blew into a flame and my creativity has been pushed over the edge and into something I have never experienced before.
DSCF3738 
Then I attended the Gathering of the Artisan’s in Black Mountain, NC for 4 days.  I felt like we were in the heavenly courts in worship and creativity.  It was so powerful to be in a room filled with artist’s painting, drawing, singing, flagging, dancing, praying , playing the Native American flute, and speaking out the Word of the Lord all at once.  It was like I found my tribe of people and we were all singing the same song and sitting in the book of Revelation.   It was an amazing experience and I came away with an increased desire to share the Lord through creativity of all kinds, not just painting. 
Our charge was this:
“ Go back to your homes, your communities and churches and light fires for Jesus through creativity.  Build up the Church. ”
Today the fire is hot.

DSCF4662

” Now I am revealing new things to you. Things hidden and unknown to you, created just now, this very moment. Of these things you have heard nothing until now. So that you cannot say, “oh yes, i knew this.”

Isaiah 48:6-7

 

If you live in my area and would like to come and create with me, I am inviting you to “come in.”  Bring your supplies and we can fellowship, encourage, and lift each other up as we create.  Please join me in the studio and we will make new discoveries together.

You can me reach here:   cdgodwin1@embarqmail.com

or here:  https://www.facebook.com/DonnaGodwin

I leave you with a blessing of holy inspiration from the Lord. 

1 Corinthians 2:9

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard,
and no mind has imagined
what God has prepared
for those who love him.”

He speaks in many ways. Look for Him in all things.  He has revealed Himself to us and the depth of His love is unfathomable.  Paint it, speak it, write it, dance it, sing it-just don’t keep it to yourself.  We were created in His Image to do these things-they are our offering of worship back to Him.

So…come and WORSHIP! 

Bless you!

d.

DSCF4684

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Love the one at the top, your painting surely have gone in a different direction. I love the “out of focus” style of that one especially. It looks like you just had a big box of bits of tissue paper and just took your hands and “fluffed” them up.

Leave a Reply

