Houses and order

Standard

Today was supposed to be a regular run of the mill day.  Kids to school, laundry, dentist, birthday cake to make, dinner to prepare, etc..   These days I am quickly learning that when I devote my first hours of the day in prayer and communion with the Lord that no day will be an “ordinary day.”   In these times of devotion I am learning to listen and see with eyes and ears of greater vision and hearing. 

Clarity.

I had to go to the dentist this morning and then stop by the audiologist office to get my tube changed on my hearing aid.  The dentist was running behind which pushed my time up right where the Lord wanted it.  ( little did I know!)  When I got to the audiologist’s office I walked in and asked for a new tube.  I took my hearing aid off and gave it to the secretary so she could replace it for me.  I sat down near a man.  I said hello to him but I could not hear him at all, so I got up and sat right next to him and leaned in so I could hear what he was saying to me, almost in his lap.   It was clear to me that he was not well.  We began to talk and he began to share.

Cancer.  Lesions. Lost an eye. Cancer took his hearing. Now it is throughout his entire body.  He said that the doctors were not talking about him getting well anymore, instead they were talking about how long he might have left and how to prolong his life as much as possible. 

He would look up and smile with his one eye open and the other one sewn halfway shut.  He testified that he could still see out of it even though it was sewn partly shut.  He was so thin and frail and as we talked I felt the Lord moving me in mercy, love and compassion for this man- a brother in Christ that I had just met. 

Love holds no boundaries.

We talked for awhile, people coming in and out.  His concern was not for himself but for his family and his dogs.  He said something to me that rocked me from the inside out….

“there is one Man who can save me and either way we go He has given me time to get my house in order.”

“He has given me time to get my house in order.”

He then told me all the things he was doing to get his house in order for his family- none of them was for himself- it was all for his family.  

Isn’t this just like Jesus?  He came to earth to help us get our houses in order-we are His family and he gave it all for us and all He has ever wanted was for US to get our lives in order so that we might LIVE forever with Him. 

……with Him-not away from Him.  This means devotion to Him-to His holiness and purity.  Giving up the things of this world and taking on the things of Christ.  Less of us means less of this world and our selfish desires and more of Him means just that- more of HIM in us.  When we get rid of the things that are taking up space-then we can make our space sacred by filling it with the things of the Lord.  This is called getting our houses in order. 

Are we giving our all for Him by getting our houses in order?  …and with no complaints?

I heard, felt and saw a man of faith sitting next to me.  Frail in the physical, strong in the faith.  We shared our mutual love for our Healer, Jesus, Jehovah Rapha.

I felt the Presence of the Lord moving in me throughout our entire conversation and I asked him, “ has anyone anointed you or laid hands on you in prayer?” 

He said, “no.”   I asked him if I could and he said “yes, please.”

I went out to the car to get my oil and when I did my phone went off.  It was my friend, Teacher and prayer warrior calling me.  Perfect timing from the Lord.  I did not answer it and I knew she was praying because that’s how the Lord Jesus works- in mysterious ways that we can never understand.  I went back inside and I heard myself asking the secretary to pray with us.  She came out and sat down.  I told her to move next to him and lay hands on him with me. So she did.  The Lord led me to anoint this man’s head and we breathed our prayer of healing out in a breath of abiding unison over this child of God, so frail and thin, yet so strong and faithful.   The Lord was right there in the oil, the prayer, the tears, the hugs and the words that slipped out of my throat through holy tears:  

“I love you brother, please keep in touch with me.” 

I said goodbye and left.

When I got to my car I wept.

I could not move.  I thanked the Lord for what He had just done for this man-for his healing and for his family.  Glory to God!!!

Then I thanked Him for He had done inside of me. 

I had never experienced such love for a stranger in my whole life.  I have prayed for such a love to come and it is here.  Hallelujah!  I have prayed for my own ears to be healed and they have been! Glory to God!  I heard a man’s heart cry with no hearing aid, no eardrums, no anvil, no hammer, no nothing.  Thank you Jesus!   I heard the Lord loud and clear and I felt a surge of love wash over me like never before.  A tender, gentle, love.  Living Water.  That’s JESUS!  HE lives in us and moves through us to reach others with His Great Name. 

Elohim, Lord Almighty, Adonai, Yeshua.

We carry His Name….

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful! My dad goes to that audiologist. I’ll think of you and your miracle of healing a hurting heart each time I go!

  2. God has blessed you Donna for your love for your fellow man and has given you the words to heal and help others through him. I love you. Mom

Leave a Reply

