Soul Dance # 1

Standard

My dear friend, Mandy, has been visiting this week.  We have been doing a lot of different things and yesterday we painted together during a time of outdoor worship. 

We have been talking about many, many, many things and one of those has been about unity.  We’ve also been talking about me getting out of my comfort zone and letting go of everything and I mean everything!  Smile

 

DSCF3719

Many months ago I experienced a time in worship where I was painting with a child.  I held her in my arms and was teaching her how to use the brush and we swayed back and forth together and in time to the music.  We danced with the brush on the canvas.”    It was an amazing experience- one that I will never forget.  It was sweet.  Jesus knew I needed to see it, feel it and experience it. 

When I found out that Mandy was coming for a visit I knew we would be painting in worship together.  Mandy’s art is very abstract and mine is usually themed around the Father’s Heart in a very understandable and “ in the canvas” type way-meaning I keep things “in the box.”

Groan.

One of the things the HS has been teaching me is to stop trying to figure everything out- to go where the wind blows.  Wooooshhhhhhhhh…..

Mandy had not painted on a larger scale so we were both trying something new.  I explained to her that I wanted to be “set free” from the boundaries of the canvas.  I desired for my soul to dance through the paint.  The only way I knew how to do it- was how I did it with the child-to hold her hand and let it flow. 

So we did. 

Mandy became like me and I was like the child.

 

DSCF3722

So…here is what we did…

We set it all up outside and we did a dance.  I stood behind Mandy, she held the brush and I locked my arm and fingers into hers-on top of her arm and hand.  She was the leader.  I started out with my eyes open and she had hers closed.   As the music started and the paint went down I said,

“ you’ve got to see this!  Open your eyes!”  LOL 

I was so excited.

He was teaching me what it meant to totally trust HIM.  Mandy is physically very expressive in her worship-flipping and dipping and bowing and praising with her whole body.  Me- I’m more reserved.  LOL.   I grew up a mellow Methodist….LOL  Sometimes it takes Jesus to bring two hearts together in HIS to help each other grow in grace.  This is one of those friendships.

We talked briefly and then we got back to the canvas.  This time I closed my eyes.  As I closed my eyes and she took off it was like we were a bird in flight.  Our bodies were touching like two dancers in time with the music. 

Mandy dipped the brush, swept up, out, over, around and bowing down-I hung on as we did a soul dance with the Lover Himself. 

It was a very intimate act of worship before the Lord.  One that I had never encountered before.  It was an absolutely beautiful expression of what UNITY really means.  It is what the Lord wants for ALL people, not just the people we choose-but for ALL people.Two artist’s becoming one, seeing with His eyes, hearing with His ears and dancing to the song of His heart.  Incredible.

Our brush flipped and flitted off the edges of the canvas- knowing no boundaries and I had been set totally free.  There are no words for that and today I have a heart filled with great thanksgiving for the God who created the universe and everything in it. 

I don’t think there are any words in our language to describe what happened during this encounter with the Lord.  As we embraced the brush in unity-the presence of God came down and took over the worship. 

My eyes closed…my heart full….my soul dancing with Him…

Yahweh, Elohim, Elohim Chayim. The Living God.
John 6:69 We believe, and we know you are the Holy One of God.

Tonight I sit and contemplate where God will take us with this and I see us going many places together to help set other artists free.  As artist’s we are told, by the world, what “looks right, feels good and sells.”  That’s not where God tells us to be.  He requires so much more than that.  It’s not about looking right, feeling good or selling anything. It’s about trusting in Him and being free to create for HIM so that others might see His beautiful face.  It’s a love affair with the Most High God.  A love affair that is so intimate and pure that it rocks the world and makes souls dance. 

It reveals who Jesus IS.

The Way. The TRUTH. The Life.

The door has been opened wide.  It’s time to step in and let your soul dance…

To GOD be the GLORY!

Amen!

 

DSCF3733

 

DSCF3734

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

