Rushing River- Soul Dance # 2

Standard

Mandy and I wanted to end our “retreat week” with a second worship painting.

We also had to break in her new “ladder easel.”  LOL. 

1 ladder from Lowes.

1 piece of 2”  board to create a ledge to set an easel on.

1 piece of 3 x 5 hardboard as the easel backer. 

bolts, nuts and a drill and VIOLA!  You have a very large sturdy easel for much less than what it costs to get an artist’s easel.  I am very thrifty when it comes to things like this.  A professional art easel is well over $200.  This was less than $75. 

This morning I set the easel up between the fire pit and the barn.  Note the barn doors are open-screaming – “enter in…”   Last month I was told I was a torchbearer and that I would be painting with flames-hence the firepit.  It’s not burning here , but we did have a fire two nights in a row.   The easel is directly under an opening in the trees where my eyes land every morning to say ‘Good Morning to God.”  This morning the stars were especially bright and beautiful and they spoke to my soul. 

DSCF3763

This morning I heard the HS say, “ Donna, as you do this-remove your hearing aid and your eyeglasses. I want no distractions.  Nothing between us.”   You have to understand that when I remove these things from myself I lose balance and perspective.  I cannot close my eyes and stand up in the  shower without stumbling or falling backwards.  ( not kidding) 

Sigh.

LOL

So I did just that.  David danced naked before the Lord and I guess you could say this was my nakedness-no ears, no eyes, but a ton of faith and a desperate desire to please the Lord.  He wanted to show me something. 

he was saying…”Donna -quit trying to figure ME out.”  Smile

 

DSCF3764

So, we anointed hands, prayed a blessing and joined Jesus where He was taking us-in complete obedience.  We did the same thing we did the day before-Mandy led while I laid my arm/hand over hers and we locked fingers.  I closed my eyes ( and I think she did too at some point) and we began the dance. 

We dipped, we lunged, we bowed, we lifted and swept up and out.  At one point I began to cry because it was just so powerful and it overwhelmed my soul.  During the first painting I thought about how my great Uncle Ralph began painting at age 90 and how his daughter would be his eyes- he was blind.  It rocked my soul as I thought about the dance they did all those years ago.  They passed it onto me.  I never saw it coming…

Woooosh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Isn’t that just like our Lord? 

Expect the unexpected…now where have I heard that before?

haha!

The level of intimacy only deepened with each stroke-especially since I could not hear or see.   Total trust.  No words. 

We finished.  I could barely stand up.  I fell out on the ground and just stayed there in the spirit.  I felt oil on my feet and then on my head. Mandy anointed me while I was laid out.  At one point I felt something dripping on my arms.  She told me later that it was the Lord pouring out.  I woke up to the dog licking my face.  He’s my painting buddy.  Sweet. Sweet. Sweet. 

I got up and looked at what we had created in the Presence of the Lord….it is what HE created through us.  It’s all HIM. 

DSCF3737

 

When you get up close…which requires that you “come in”

 

DSCF3740

you begin to see with new eyes…

DSCF3754

and hear with new ears….

DSCF3756

and you see the glory of the Lord in living color!

DSCF3745

It is rich, deep, and oh so full of LIFE!

DSCF3751

His LIFE!  Grace, peace, love, light and life.

Shalom! 

John 14:27

“I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.”  -Jesus

Lord, I thank you for your faithfulness and your undying love for us.  I weep at your feet and thank you with tears as my offering of love.  I am yours, you are mine.

Foever His…forevermore….

amen

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

