The Ride

Standard

cort lightbulb

 

I love my hubster.  He takes such good care of us.  His motto is “home first” everything else later.  He is a man of great integrity and faith.  He doesn’t push it down your throat and he mixes it up with a lot of humor, gentleness, kindness and patience. 

I thank GOD for that patience!  He has needed it with me!  It’s no wonder his hair is nearly gone!  LOL  I have to admit that he does drive me crazy from time to time and one of those ways is when we ride!  Haha!

You see, whenever we ride our motorcycles he always wants me to lead.  I always thought this was because he didn’t want to decide where we were going to go but this week I realized it was for a different reason.  God is good to show us things when we ask to see with His eyes.

Smile

101_3007

Let me share…

We were cruising down I-40 in TN and I was riding behind a tractor trailer.  Not close.  Just staying in my lane and cruising at a steady speed with the traffic. 

Oh, before I tell you this story let me just share with you that in the past month God has taken my fear away.  I knew he had taken it away for public speaking and a few other things but I didn’t realize that he took away my fear of motorcycle interstate driving until I got out there this week.  You see I have never been comfortable riding on the interstate at 65-70 mph.  I have never enjoyed passing cars or the big trucks.  In fact when coming upon a tractor trailer my stomach would always lurch, fear would grip my heart and I would wind up the throttle just to get past the trucks.  If I could close my eyes I would do that too!  It was pretty bad.  It’s not something you share or readily admit to.  I like to stay on the back roads and travel at 45 or 50 mph.  Fear often kept me from completely enjoying this time with my husband.  God took care of it.

In my last post I wrote about being anointed and prayed over.  During this time God was removing things from me and one of those things was fear.  Scripture is very clear about this spiritual discipline. James 5:14 Are you hurting? Pray. Do you feel great? Sing. Are you sick? Call the church leaders together to pray and anoint you with oil in the name of the Master. Believing-prayer will heal you, and Jesus will put you on your feet. And if you’ve sinned, you’ll be forgiven—healed inside and out. I believe this should be a daily part of our walk of faith.  If you desire prayer and anointing please contact me.  It is an honor to anoint and pray for you in His Mighty Name.   It is part of our calling as Christians. 

Anyway- once we got out on the road and had ridden for awhile I realized that I was actually enjoying the highway that I once disliked!  I had passed many trucks and had not had that lurching, I wanna puke feeling in my gut. It was GONE!!   Once I realized it I shouted HALLELUJAH!!!!!!  It really was a big deal because I thoroughly enjoyed every mile of this ride with my husband and God KNEW I NEEDED FOR THAT TO HAPPEN!  The thing I began to realize is that my position in Christ has changed.  I’ve always believed and knew where I was going when I died.  This trip was different.  I was seated in HIS position, not mine.  I was in HIS hands, not mine.  This was HIS trip, not mine and I knew it.

I began to see it through His eyes as I watched my husband take over the lead on I-40.  You see my husband is a mechanic.  Some might say “grease monkey” but I say “GENIUS.”  The man can fix anything he lays his hands on.  People call him from all over to ask how to fix things.  Strangers stop by the garage to ask him how to do things and I stand in awe of the knowledge that God has given this man to minister to people with.  He is always thorough, where some might say slow, I say “perfectionist.”  He will never let a vehicle leave the garage that he is not willing to drive himself.  He has the highest integrity of anyone I know. 

He pulls up next to me and waves me over into the passing lane with him.  I give him a puzzled look and then just shrug and follow his lead.  We go around the truck and then get off at the next exit.  He began to share what he saw with me and as he did I bowed my heart before God and gave thanks for this man.  You see, I was following a UPS truck and as I said, I am married to a mechanic and they notice things most people don’t.  Even though he was riding behind me he saw something I didn’t-because my eyes aren’t trained to see like his are.  He saw that the truck had a flat rear tire on the double inside tire.  He knew it would eventually blow and he didn’t want me behind it when it happened.  That would have been a disaster.  So as we passed the truck he slowed down by the driver’s window and tried to signal the guy to pull over, but the driver didn’t quite get the message-so he kept going and we got off. 

We got off, gassed up and he shared what he saw with me.  In those moments I realized that he wants me to lead so he can watch out for me….keep an eye on me from behind-like a rear guard.  God humbled me in these moments and I fell in love with my husband again.  He see’s with the eyes of God-our Protector, Guardian, and Friend.  He is ever faithful and his love endures forever.  Thank you God,  for Cort Godwin! 

When we got back on- a few miles up the road the UPS truck was pulled over to the side of the road….need I say more?

I thank GOD for my husband who has eyes to see and ears to hear!

Glory to GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Smile

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

