Painting Freedom

Standard

 

God took His time with me this past week to show me what he wants me to paint.  I have never been so filled with a message as I have this one. He has risen up inside of me in a way that I have never experienced before.  It is overwhelming at times and other times I just sit in awe of what he is showing me.

Cort and I rode 1832 miles on our bikes this past week.  It started out as a motorcycling vacation and ended up as a “Freedom Ride.”   I even heard myself using that term when we met Dave Ramsey.  Uh, yeah, we met the guru himself, and shook his hand and had a conversation and were even ON THE SHOW!  LOL  ( more on that later!) 

I can’t explain God so I won’t even try.  I will say that ride turned into a heavy duty prayer ride for this nation.  Mile after mile I found myself praying over the land, the people, the crops, the storehouses, the workers on the roads, people passing in cars, families in homes, truck drivers and cattle in the fields.  We got off one exit and there standing in a circle was one very large flag surrounded by half a dozen smaller ones.  It took my breath away.  What I saw was Christ standing in the midst of the USA-taking back His land- our hearts.  It moved me to the core. 

As the week passed and things happened Cort and I began to see our ministries apart and together.  We have both been filled with a desire to help “set the captives free.”  His is through helping families get out of debt by taking care of their money the way God intended.   Mine is creating an encounter with Jesus through worship and art- to make God visible. It is our life’s work.  God used this trip to give us both a vision and a plan to do all that we can right here.

I am the most unpolitical person you could meet.  I do not want to hear about politics or argue about them.  But God has been speaking to me over the past few months about this land. HIS LAND.   We all know that our nation is in the deepest debt it has ever been in.  Financially and spiritually.  When we get our houses in order by getting back to GOD then the nation will shift.   But it won’t happen without devotion and loyalty to God and God alone.  We have to quit buying the lies and start listening to the Truth.  We need to turn away from the world and turn to the Word of the Lord.  God has given me some powerful images to paint and I covet your prayers as I work through these images.  Some artists paint the curses of the land and the government-the pain of reality.  It is a wake up call to all of us.   I feel the same pain, but my call is to be a blessing and for me that means painting a blessing.   Painting God’s blessed Word into the world.  To PROCLAIM GOD OVER THE LAND. That’s what prophetic art does- it paints a blessing into the realm of heaven-bringing the Kingdom to earth.  

“ Thy KINGDOM COME, thy will be done ON EARTH as it is in heaven…” 

There are only blessings in heaven…

My paintings are like painted prayers.  We all know that our prayers go up and that God hears them all.  They cause a shift in the heavenlies.  It is the desire of His heart- to hear our voices speaking, singing and yes, painting to Him.  Our worship is like a melody to His heart. 

 

As we rolled through the fields of TN and KY the images just came like a floodwater in my soul.  In fact, the night we spent with the Hershman’s-I woke up and heard Don’s voice talking to me in my spirit.   HS said, “ Donna, constantly water your soul.”  When I got up I asked Don if he had anything to tell me but he didn’t.  I believe he will though-it was that strong. 

One of the things that happened has left me a little undone.  I met an army chaplain in the Nashville Cracker barrel.  I thanked him for his service to our country. I left the Cracker barrel and discovered we needed directions. So I went back inside.  Guess who I ran into again? Yep, the chaplain.  We talked about “directions” and then ‘Directions.”  It was a divine appointment from the Lord.  Pretty soon I was handing him my card and explaining my ministry to him.  He asked me if I traveled and I said, “yes” and he said he would “be calling me.”  Whether he calls me by phone or not is up to him, but God has definitely been calling me to see through His eyes in our meeting.  I believe that as the Chaplain and I embraced and said goodbye that something of God was transferred to my spirit from his.  It was a marker moment.  I didn’t realize it until later but after meeting him I began seeing things with the eyes of a Chaplain.  The flags, the land, freedom ride, taking back the land, my boots became his boots and they were filled with the Living Water of Jesus Christ.  I saw a picture of an army boot walking through the desert sands and I heard God say, “  I will give you every place you set your foot down for Me.”  Joshua.  As the boot hit the sand, and the heel lifted , it left behind the beautiful Living Water of Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior. 

A soldier in a barren land carrying a message of Hope.  Isn’t this what we all are?   Foot soldiers for Christ?  That’s what I saw and felt in that meeting with the Chaplain.  I pray that God will cross our paths again and that he will allow me to find him on FB. Smile  I want to share this moment with him.  He needs to hear it. 

And this is what we shall paint… Freedom.  Thank you Lord, you have blessed my soul.  It is an honor and a privilege to serve you with my all.  I give these brushes back to you and ask that you guide every stroke, every color, and every blessing.  I give them to you and I know that you will use them to do what only YOU can do…more of you and less of me Lord.  Lead me, guide me, carry me and convict me.  Deeper, wider, higher, longer, stronger, more, more, more. 

It’s about Freedom… in Christ Jesus and none other.

Glory to God in the highest! 

AmenSmile

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

