Come…take a journey with me….

Standard

The Holy Spirit spoke to me through the words of a friend earlier in the week. 

“This scar that’s on My back… Tells the story of Who I AM…

These holes in My Hands and Feet… Are the doorway to heaven

There is a fist sized cleft in My side A place for you to hide

In the Rock that I AM

I wear this crown of scars with deep satisfaction Because they remind Me that your mind is now free

To be with Me.”

I began to take a look at the crucifixion again through the eyes of John.  I started way back in John 14 underlining a lot of scripture along the way. Here are some of them…(from John 14-19)  

“ Just believe…”

“ I am going to be with the Father…”

“ I will reveal myself to each one of them.”

“I am leaving you with a gift-peace of mind and heart.”

“ Yes, your joy will overflow.”

“ You are my friends if you obey me.”

“ You will be expelled from the synagogues.”

“ The world’s sin is unbelief.”

“ When the Spirit of Truth comes, he will guide you into all truth.”

“He will tell you about the future.”

“He will bring me GLORY by revealing to you whatever he receives from me.”

I am going to stop there because this brings me to the whole point of this blog, the painting, our lives here on earth and the life of Jesus.  He came to do what the Father said and to glorify GOD in all things-even in his death and today in His life! 

The spirit of truth was speaking to me through my friend and as I read the crucifixion again ( after how many zillions of times…this just PROVES that God never gives up!!!)  I began to see as if with new eyes.  I have always read this story through eyes of death, pain, and the ugliness of the world.  It hurt.  My artwork even showed the pain and in the past year I have shied away from painting it.  But this day something changed and I began reading with the future in mind- with the GLORY of GOD in mind.  A shift took place in my spirit.

We see this as horrendous and it WAS-but here’s the thing-Jesus is NOT DEAD.  So many people are walking around like He is!  We have to see the glory through the pain and suffering.  It stinks going through the things we have to sometimes-but we must always remember that whatever we are going through is not our home.  Our home is with Him-in GLORYLAND!  ( with the understanding that you can only get there through believing in Jesus Christ and not Mickey Mouse, Daffy Duck or Bugs Bunny!) 

So, as I read and I got to John 19:34….

“ One of the soldiers, however, pierced his side with a spear, and blood and water flowed out.”

I began to see this whole scene with new eyes and I knew I would paint it.

My study bible explained that the spear hit the pericardium-the sac that surrounds the heart and the fluid in the heart spilled out with the blood. The pericardium acts as a protectant for the heart.  ( just like Jesus is to us.)  The word water here is ‘hydor” and this is what the concordance says about that word:

1) water a) of water in rivers, in fountains, in pools b) of the water of the deluge c) of water in any of the earth’s repositories d) of water as the primary element, out of and through which the world that was before the deluge, arose and was compacted e) of the waves of the sea f) fig. used of many peoples

So I began seeing the scene through spiritual eyes and not earthly eyes.  We see bodily fluids and blood and searing pain.  Remember Jesus was already dead.  How often do we overlook this fifth piercing?  One in each hand and one in each foot.  He had four nail holes-we always think three because there were only 3 nails-but his feet were on top of one another and both received one nail but two piercings.  The piercing in his side would make 5 holes.  Do you know what the number for grace is?

FIVE.

( FYI : Five happens to be my favorite number to write, to say and to see.  Now I know why! LOL)

As I sat and read and asked God to reveal Himself to me I began to see glory in places I had not before and the best way to explain these places is to just show you.

Glory in a spear tip…

DSCF3498

Glory in the blood…

DSCF3496

Glory in the piercing….

DSCF3493

and in the dying….so that we might live.

DSCF3493

This place right here ( look up and enter in)

This is where we go to meet God the Father and the Son through the HS to commune with them in this deep, place in the very center of the Father heart of God.   We bow down our own hearts and enter in the narrow way to stand before the Holy One.  Holy! Holy! Holy! Is the Lord God Almighty!  Who was, and is and is to come!  We go there to take a drink of His deep waters.  John tells us that Living Waters flow from deep within the heart of anyone who believes in Jesus and we also know that these waters bring healing to the mind, body and soul of man.  Thank you Jesus and PRAISE GOD!

This is a place of glory.

Jesus took the pain to give us the glory and just as He was pierced, so are we-but with a different kind- one of  brilliance!  A pure and holy love that comes from the Father to live inside of us.  It is one that we honor, respect, and revere with our lives.  We are called to be holy and pleasing to God in all that we do- a living sacrifice to a living God.  That’s the glory- He’s NOT dead as some preach and He’s not angry and He’s not “out to get anyone”-He’s in love with YOU and all He wants is for you to spend time with Him in His dwelling place.  His abode. His home. His heart.  This is glory revealed.  The glory of the Father who gave it all, got it back and and is still chasing us!  WOW!

Take a listen…and be blessed…His Glory has been revealed! 

Bless you!

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

