Come a little closer

Video

DSCF3271

As we came into the homestead the other day we noticed the two fields around my parents home were bare.  All we could see from the road was soil.  It looked like good, deep dark soil and we wondered where the crop was.  It had been raining a lot and we thought maybe the seed had gotten washed away.  Usually by this time of year the corn and crops are knee high or better.

But not so here.

DSCF3266

It just looked strange.

DSCF3275

So this morning I popped a squat under the apple tree…

I looked up…

DSCF3272

and I heard the Lord say, ” come a little closer…take a deeper walk with Me…”

My mind went right to Revelation 4:1-2

“After this I looked, and there before me was a door standing open in heaven. And the voice I had first heard speaking to me like a trumpet said, “Come up here, and I will show you what must take place after this.” 2 At once I was in the Spirit, and there before me was a throne in heaven with someone sitting on it.”

When I looked up into the tree I saw the Light of Christ shining back at me through the tree limbs and leaves.  I just sat there thinking about this verse from Revelation.  “Come up here and I will show you what must take place after this.”  I know God was talking to John but He is also talking to us.  In order for us to see what He see’s we must get closer to HIM.  We must crawl into His lap and sit with Him for awhile and let Him whisper in our ear, let Him teach us things that no one else can.

DSCF3277

As I laid my head back in the chair and looked up- I saw the Light and then I saw the arms outstretched in praise and adoration to the Creator of the Universe!  Even the trees praise God!  If you don’t believe me- go lay underneath a tree with your eyes wide open and just look with eyes of wonder-the eyes of a child.  Take the time to be like a child….

Psalm 145: 1-3

I will exalt you, my God and King,
and praise your name forever and ever.
2 I will praise you every day;
yes, I will praise you forever.
3 Great is the Lord! He is most worthy of praise!
No one can measure his greatness.

DSCF3209

I sat up and had the urge to walk closer to the field.  I began to see what I couldn’t see before because I was just too far away from it.

God was saying: ” Come up here…come a little closer…”

DSCF3280

All I could see was dirt, but as I got closer I began to see the life springing from the dirt.

God was in the moment.  There was life there after all…new life…

DSCF3279

Hmph.  ( My Granny loved to say this-Hmph…) God was definitely speaking to me in these morning moments.  Just because things don’t happen in “my ” time doesn’t mean they aren’t happening and I shouldn’t assume they aren’t.

God was saying, “Patience, my child, patience.  You were looking at the dirt.  I was looking at the seed.  I have watered it, nurtured it and am growing it at my pace, not yours.  Be patient and train your eyes to see Me.  Come a little closer and walk with Me.”

So I did…

this is what I see as I come up closer to Thee…

DSCF3208

Glory to God! I love how He speaks….thank you Father…thank you…

” draw near to me and I will draw near to you…”  James 4:8

DSCF3219

Be sure and listen to this beautiful song by Martin Smith of Jesus Culture:

“Song of Solomon”

http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S2urjlelpuM

Leave a Reply

