Dublin UMC Tree of Life

Standard

Hi!

Over the past month I have been working with the Dublin UMC youth on a project.

This project represents the past, present and future of the church.

Ten years ago the church had a fire.  These kids were 3 and 4 years old.  Now they are teenagers.  We talked about their memories from the fire and I have to say that what I heard from them was all about how God got them through with prayer and in His strength.   There was even an angel seen in the smoke of the fire.  Someone had taken a photograph during the fire and you can see an angel in the smoke.  The thing that the kids remembered the most is that the church family stood in the yard and prayed.  They said that while the building was burning the CHURCH was praying.  The CHURCH isn’t a building- it’s the people.  Amen!

I have experienced how BIG our God is through these kids and leaders.  The Holy Spirit was among us each time we met. 

Each kid painted a medallion, made of canvas material, and they painted their memory on it.  Then we painted a tree on this larger canvas made of hardboard.   The medallions were all mounted to the tree with leaves added.  It is a mixed media collaboration.  It clearly shows the body of Christ at work and can be used for many sermon illustrations.  All of the medallions tell the story of the fire from the past to the present to the future.  Life has come up and out of the fire, much like a tree planted from a seed that grows into something big and beautiful.  A tree provides shade, sustenance and shelter for animals and birds that live in it.  A church provides spiritual food, water and shelter for the people who enter there.  It is much more than a building and it’s “limbs” extend into the community and beyond. 

This piece is called the “ Tree of Life “ -it tells the story of God’s restorative powers of a people of faith.  If you are ever in Dublin on a Sunday morning, ( or any other time) stop by and ask to take a peek at it.  I am sure they will enjoy sharing God’s story with you!

Dublin tree of life

Through my time with this youth group and others, I have been blessed to be able to encourage, equip and empower some young artist’s to start painting with the Lord.  I am excited to see what God is going to do through each of them.  It’s already started and there will be more to share as time goes on.   God used this church to plant a seed inside of me more than 14 years ago.  This is where I first realized the power of God through art.  God has a way of bringing us “home” and causing us to remember what He showed us.  I remember hearing a pastor teach a sermon using a painting by Peter Bruegel the Elder.  God sent a spark into my soul that day and it has been rising ever since.  Today, I give thanks to the great and magnificent  Lord above.  He gives us creative spirits, hearts, minds and hands to share Him with the world.  As artist’s- this is our purpose-to create for Him and Him alone.  When we separate ourselves from the noise of the world and get quiet in His Presence-then it all becomes crystal clear.  Nothing else matters except you and Him.  I am thankful for life, for trees, for pastors who preach God’s Word and illustrate it with art, and I am absolutely overwhelmed by His unending love for us.  It is what compels and motivates me to create art that tells His Story of love. 

Praise the Lord!

If you are reading this and would like me to come and speak to your church or youth group, please feel free to contact me via email or FB. 

cdgodwin1@embarqmail.com

We can make an impact on the world for Christ-together!

In His great unending love,

d. 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

