The Table – 1

Standard

Hi!

I have been painting this table top for Ty and Kim and the kids ( and yes they know about it…)

and as I am painting I am recalling the first time we met…

let me share …

kims table 2

We had visited FUMC a few times and were sort of wandering in our wondering of where to worship.  The kids were 11 and 5!  WOW!  Anyway- we had briefly met Ty after a church service and I think we talked about motorcycles at some point. 

Many weeks went by- maybe even months-like I said we were wandering in our wondering!

I was scheduled for some rather delicate surgery.  I had my surgery and spent a few days in the hospital.  I arrived home and settled down on the couch with all the necessities of after surgery care.  The drink, the kleenex, the drugs and the little bell. ( ha!ha!  Just kidding!)

My folks were here to help out.  I hadn’t been on the couch for more than a few minutes when the doorbell rang.  Who in the world?

ha!

God always knows who to send and when!

It was Pastor Ty and Linda MacDonald!  They came with smiles, hugs and the best chocolate chip cookies ever!  Linda sat right down, like we had always known each other, and started talking to me and asking me about my surgery.  She shared that she had the same thing and was giving me some advice.  She put me right at ease about their visit.

Ty came in and met everyone and we had a grand time visiting, laughing and telling stories.  It was like we had always known each other.  I asked them how they knew to come and this is what they said….

Ty wanted to visit us but couldn’t remember our names.  He remembered that we rode motorcycles ( go figure!) and that we lived at the Crossroads.  So the church secretary knew our neighbor so she called her to ask if she knew us and where we lived.  She told her she did and that I had just had surgery.  So, they came and we have always said that it was a divine appointment. 

I remember Ty’s beautiful prayer and I recalled our previous pastor praying the same way with the same spirit, as Ty.  Both of them prayed blessings over us  a family, and over our home.  In that moment I knew we would become members at FUMC Hillsville and several months later we did.  It was like I heard a whisper from God…”this is the place.”

And it was.

Ty and Donna

A lot has happened over the years and God has used Ty to teach us, to show us and to be like Jesus to us.  I have learned how to be a woman who chases after God’s heart from this man and his family.  He has invited us to ride motorcycles,  to draw, to share, to teach, to take a mission trip and to preach.  In fact Corynn and I both went our first international mission trips with Pastor Ty.  Me to Slovakia and she to Nicaragua.   God has used him to draw all of us nearer to the Father’s heart.

That’s what this painting is about.

You see – God has adopted us as His children and I never really “got that” until I met Ty and Kim.  For those of you who know their story-you know what I mean.  They adopted three beautiful children and it has been through each of them that I have seen the love of the Father.  They live in the very center of the heart of God.

 

Harrison table top

 

Ephesians 1: 3-8

3 All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ. 4 Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes. 5 God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure. 6 So we praise God for the glorious grace he has poured out on us who belong to his dear Son.[b] 7 He is so rich in kindness and grace that he purchased our freedom with the blood of his Son and forgave our sins. 8 He has showered his kindness on us, along with all wisdom and understanding.

So, as I have been painting I have been remembering all of the lessons of adoption that I have learned through this family and I have been giving thanks to the Father for what He has done through each of them to reach people for Christ.  They serve out of their love for God and in doing so, they have taught us the meaning of GRACE and today we are richer for knowing them.  Glory to God! 

…..to be continued….Smile

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

