The Blessing Project–art therapy 101

Standard

This is an art therapy lesson that will help you speak, write, and pray God’s Word (blessing’s)  over someone you love.  Being a visual person-I need visuals!  I recently did this over a loved one and the joy that I received in doing it was completely unexpected and uncontainable!  The Holy Spirit moves in mysterious ways and I can’t explain them.  All I know is that doing this gave me focus, and made me shout and do a little dance!  Smile

DSCF2757

 

So, I thought I would write a little lesson on how to do it! 

Always remember

Isaiah 55:11

 It is the same with my word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it.

 

Here is what you will need:

1. A photo  ( or a copy) of the person you are praying for.

 

2. A picture frame- the bigger the better- does not need to be the same size as photo-go bigger-you’ll see why.

picture frame

( I actually used an old window frame ( see above) and many photos-but most people don’t have an old window frame just hanging around…LOL) 

3. Sharpie markers of assorted colors.

sharpie

4.  Colored paper

colored paper

5. Glue gun/glue sticks

glue gun

6. Scissors

scissors

 

Step one.

Put your picture in the frame-center it, tilt it, however you want it to look. 

Close the frame back and turn it over to the right side up.

Step two.

Now take the markers and go to your bible and pick our scriptures that you want to speak over this person.  Here are some that I chose:

 

-Jeremiah 29:11 –For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord.

-Psalm 75:1-     We thank you, O God!
                         We give thanks because you are near.
                         People everywhere tell of your wonderful deeds.

-Psalm 55:6-    Oh, that I had wings like a dove;
                        then I would fly away and rest!

-Psalm 139:14 –   I praise you( because I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

Nehemiah 6:9 – “Now strengthen my hands.”

Nehemiah 8:10  “ The joy of the Lord is your strength.”

DSCF2754

 

Step three

Start writing these scriptures directly on the glass.  They can cover the photo, go around the edges, make a design, however you are led to do it.  As you write them out- say the scriptures out loud and insert that person’s name in the prayer.  Make it personal.

 

Examples:

“ We thank you O God, (for Jane.)   We give thanks because you are near (Jane.0 People everywhere tell of your wonderful deeds! “

“(Jane) is fearfully and wonderfully made.”

“Strengthen (Jane’s) hands”

“ The joy of the Lord is (Jane’s) strength.”

 

Step four

For the last step-cut out little flower shapes and glue them to outside of the frame.

flowers

 

When you have completed this project-then hang this where you can see it everyday as a reminder to pray for this person and of the blessings of God in their life.  Sometimes it is hard for us to see the blessings in life, especially in times of uncertainty and trials. This is a great visual aid. 

DSCF2757

 

If you are in a time of transition- If you don’t already do this-I would encourage you to make time to spend with the Lord on a daily basis.  Start out by listening to soaking music that will help you focus on the Lord and His Word.  Here are some that I like:

” Glory” – by Klaus Kuehn

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NJovzyssLO0

“Come to me” by Jenn Johnson”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sY0Vz8fvIhE

“ In Your Presence” by Jenn Johnson

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ux-j0mHbG5g

God will lead you as you soak in the music.  He will bring scriptures to mind, so sit with your bible in your lap and when you hear a book and a verse come to mind- go there, read it, speak it, pray it.

Listen.

If you are in a trial, I suggest that you listen to this song as you work through this project.  In fact, you might want to listen to it before you begin.  Close your eyes, sit back, listen and follow the leading of the Holy Spirit.  You will know what to do…just trust…

 

Thanks for reading and trying these things!  I share them because of my love for the Lord.  Every aspect of worship is important.  From preaching, to studying ( devouring the Word)  to teaching, to creating, to listening to music, to reading His Word and being in fellowship with others.  When we take the time to get alone with God-He opens our eyes and ears to the things of the deep.  So, I encourage you to add these things to your worship, ( if you don’t already do them!)   There is no greater joy than spending time with Him. 

Blessings for your journey- it’s the most exciting ride of your life!

Smile

d.( ps- feel free to share your project results with me-or if you would like me to lead a group workshop on this project you can contact me at : cdgodwin1@embarqmail.com

( This project can apply to any area of your life- vision for your family, business, church or a group.) 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

