This is SOOOO me….

Standard

Artists make linear thinkers nervous….true that!  Not on purpose-but that’s just the way it is…

Free spirit vs nerd.  God made us all one way or the other and He loves each of us equally.  As an artist, I have found how hard it IS to fit in.  I can relate to this video so clearly.  Music is heard and played in most all churches everywhere…but what about visual art?

It is being used more and more and in my own experience I have been told by others how visual art has moved their heart to see God, receive God and hear God.  It is a powerful tool that the Lord has gifted many people with.  Some people don’t even know the gift lies within them.  That’s one of the things I love to do- pull that gift out of people and show them how to use it for God and then watch them take off and fly with their newly found discovery!  It is the joy of my heart-to watch other people walk into their destiny-whether it is art or something else. 

A few weeks ago I asked a man in my congregation if he would preach one Sunday for me.  I’ve been encouraging him for some time now.  I saw the gift that was hidden within him –he has a teacher’s heart.   He accepted the offer right away and I was excited for God, for him, and for the church!  I didn’t get to hear him, but other people called me and told me what a wonderful job he did!  I knew he could do it!  I gave thanks to the Lord for his willing heart to try.  That’s what God is after- our willingness to “get out of our box” and try something new.

So right now, I thank all of you wonderful people who helped me get out of my box.  I know that I make some people nervous and they don’t know what to do with me, but that’s just the way it is.   I make myself nervous sometimes- so don’t feel like you are alone!   haha!

The wonderful Count Zinzendorf was a radical man chasing after God and people persecuted him because he was so graphic in his preaching.  In case you didn’t know it- he received his salvation looking at a painting of Jesus.  It is said that when he preached he encouraged people to visualize Christ’s wounds and he would explain them in great detail.  He encouraged people to use their imaginations and “enter into the wounds and drink from them.” 

This is what art does for me-it allows me to “enter in” and “drink….”

The more I drink, the more I want…like an alcoholic who needs more booze- I need more of Christ.  What about you?

Have you had a drink today?

I invite you to “enter in…” and partake of the glorious cup of Christ…

 

caravaggio-thomas

 

Caravaggio’s “Doubting Thomas”

I love this scene………

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

