Day 4 of P & P

Standard

Hi!

I confess- I did not paint today BUT I did pray!  Praise God!   Some of the paintings I had previously done have been busy at work today!   ( More on that in the next post!!) 

The bible says we are to speak blessings into the world.  It is something that I am passionate about.  Each day that passes teaches me how to do it a little more and a little bit better.   We do this using by words, actions, and even in paintings.  When I paint something using colors that are vibrant and bright and catch the eye- it speaks a blessing of light and life into the world.  I paint using the colors of the rainbow and I teach the kids that when we use those colors we are painting “God’s promises” into the atmosphere.  He gave us the colors to use and the breath to represent Him and we can do it with each stroke and every word that we breath out into the world.  Painting can give us a vision of the future.  It can show us who we are now and who we can become.  It helps us to see things with new eyes….

100_0422

Let me share a story with you.

In 2009 ( the beginning of this art ministry)  I was asked to do a drawing for Flat Rock UMC.  This beautiful little church had been through a lot of turmoil and had been on the brink of closing.  Some of the church members did not want to see that happen so they pursued keeping it open and GLORY TO GOD that they did!   When I met them, I fell in love with them, their story,  and with Flat Rock.

Matt. 16:18

Now I say to you that you are Peter (which means ‘rock’), and upon this rock I will build my church, and all the powers of hell will not conquer it.

100_0417

As you can see, it is built on a rock! 

In 2009 it became a preaching station- open, but not every Sunday. 

It was Homecoming weekend and the speaker was preaching on Lazarus and I was drawing. 

All I could “see” was the church in it’s resurrected state- the grave clothes coming off and new life coming up-doors open and Jesus standing in the door with open arms, saying” Welcome Home.”   God was urging me to draw a picture of HOPE.   So that’s what I did.

Flat Rock drawing 2

I saw Lazarus standing before me.  I love the story of Lazarus-don’t you?  I see myself in the story.  Like Lazarus,  God has gently unwrapped me over the years.  I also saw this church being unwrapped. 

Today I returned to Flat Rock and once again God met me there just as He did 4 years ago.  He reminded me of the work that He has done there.  He also reminded me of the minute, tiny, little role that He gave me in that work and that my work is far from being done. 

I am an artist commissioned by God.  He asked me give the people a vision then, and today He is saying the same thing, only it seems much louder and more passionate.

He knew exactly what I needed to hear and see.  To keep my eyes on Him.  To not turn right or left and to keep walking into the destiny before me. 

Draw near to GOD and He will draw near to you. James 4:8

I will be honest, the work that he has given me to do seems crazy and there are days that I say, “really God?  You want me to do what?”  He responds with a “follow me” and I say,  oh yeah, THAT!”  LOL  He has given me vision to see beyond the here and now and He has told me to share it-no matter how crazy it seems or feels. Just do it ( as Nike says…)

Four years ago, I was led by the HS to give a new perspective through the Word of God, a pencil, a piece of chalk and a passion to make the invisible God VISIBLE! 

I had forgotten and He knew it.  I had been feeling a pull to go there all week and today I finally did.

When I walked through the doors of that little church, I was reminded of that time four years ago.   It was a time of hearing God’s calling, and acknowledging it.   Four years ago I cried my heart out to God about what He was asking me to do.  I spent time under that cross in the yard and walking the top of that mountain, praying and reading scripture out loud.  It was the beginning of many things…preaching and drawing and much more…things that only God could see.  It’s good to remember from time to time and I thank God for calling me back to that mountain top today. 

Just as I have risen to meet my destiny,  Flat Rock has risen to meet hers.  Today her steeple rises high and proud in the bright blue sky and her doors are open for ministry. 

  For that, I am ever so grateful and thankful to the God of RESURRECTION POWER !  Jehovah Rapha!  The God of Healing and New Life! 

We serve THE LIVING GOD who brings dead things to LIFE!  Churches and people! 

This weekend there will be a wedding there…I can’t think of a better way to celebrate God’s covenant love can you?  

Jesus really IS standing in the doorway and He is saying, “ Welcome Home Friends, Welcome Home…”  

“ Come to me, all who are weary and heavy laden and I will give you rest…”  Matt. 11:28

Flat Rock Chalk

 

The kids did this as they watched…

they are a living testimony to a church that has RISEN to meet it’s purpose!

Thanks be to God…

Flat Rock Kids pic

Flat Rock is a wonderful place to catch a fresh breath of air  ( you better hang onto your hat!)  and to set your vision on God.  If you get a chance in your travels- take a ride to Flat Rock.  Walk around her, talk to God and when you look off in the distance -you will see heaven.   It’s a special spot- you’ll see what I mean when you get there….

it’s a good place to turn around…

stay tuned for the rest of the story…..

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

