Painting & Praying for 40 days- Day 1

Standard

 

paint tree

Hello!

Today is the start of 40 days of prayer and paintings.   ( April 15-May 25) 

It is unclear to me at this time if I will do 40 paintings, or more or less,-in 40 days.  All I know is that I am dedicating time in the studio for the next 40 days to paint and pray into many things and for many people.  If you have a prayer request, please email me:  cdgodwin1@embarqmail.com

For those of you who are creative spirits and want to join me- here is the verse that God led me to earlier this morning…

John 4:34-38. 

Specifically verse 35.

Then Jesus explained: “My nourishment comes from doing the will of God, who sent me, and from finishing his work. 35 You know the saying, ‘Four months between planting and harvest.’ But I say, wake up and look around. The fields are already ripe[e] for harvest. 36 The harvesters are paid good wages, and the fruit they harvest is people brought to eternal life. What joy awaits both the planter and the harvester alike! 37 You know the saying, ‘One plants and another harvests.’ And it’s true. 38 I sent you to harvest where you didn’t plant; others had already done the work, and now you will get to gather the harvest.”

DSCF2161

If you are painting or being creative along with me and would like to share your work- I would love to post it here with your thoughts and how you heard God speaking to you as you created. 

This project is about reaching the world for Christ through prayer and being creative.  It is about stopping your work in the everyday and being still in the Kingdom and praying those prayers through your paintbrush and onto the canvas.  I like to think of it as pushing them into the Kingdom because as I paint and pray, I push the paint into the canvas and there are times when I can’t push hard enough or get enough color on the canvas!  ( or whatever medium you use to create with.)    It’s about listening for God through the process and then sharing what He speaks to you with others.  God is doing amazing things through the arts and He wants His sons and daughters to CREATE for HIM!  The world is yearning to see HIM with fresh eyes and He has given us the creative spirit to do just that.  Paint, paper, photography, dance, song, flags, music, singing, poetry, mixed media, computer graphics, gardening, whatever you can think of that causes us to CREATE for CHRIST.  It’s not about WHAT we create- but WHO we create FOR!  It is our WORSHIP to the KING of all CREATION!

DSCF2141

The world needs to see HIM again…and together…we can make a difference.

So, to all of you creative types- this is my challenge to each of you- let us overtake our communities with  audio and visuals of the LIVING GOD-pour out HIS COLORS and SOUND on the people around you, pick up your cameras, your exacto knives, your glue guns, your paintbrushes, your guitars, your voices and tap your feet and wave your flags for the ONE who was and IS and IS TO COME!   Don’t hold anything back-you are an army of artist’s for GOD.  Take your stance and CREATE!

Then I dare you to GIVE IT AWAY! 

God gave it ALL away and in doing that-He gained so much more-He gained His Son and all of US!   When we do likewise- people will come into the Kingdom with us and behind us.  Someone did it for us and now it is our turn to do for others.  Let us be forever generous with that we have been given.  A love that never ends.

101_4934

POUR IT OUT!

That’s what the world is crying out for.

Jesus said: “ But I say, wake up and look around. The fields are already ripe for harvest.”

WAKE UP! You are armed and ready to take on the world you live in…

now, go, seek God, pray with all your might and CREATE!

Splatter your world with the colors of Promise….

always praying,

d.

 

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

