Worship through art with kids!

Standard

Hi!

Last night I was honored to be able to worship with children of all ages through art, music and flagging!  It was a special event- a birthday celebration for an 80 year young friend! 

We met at Fountain of Life church in Mount Airy and the band “ Miracle Made” led in worship.

The kids were excited and their parents had brought their painting/drawing easels from home and we were all lined up along the stage.  I felt like I was in heaven with these kids!  Some of them I had never met.  We gathered together to talk about painting for Jesus and then we did the whole team shout with our hands in a circle, shouting, “ paint for Jesus!”   There were about 10 kids of all ages.

The music began and we started to create.

On this yellow and red piece I started out holding one of the littlest ones and we danced together with the brush on the canvas.  It was so natural and freeing.  Her little brother came in after she was done and added the red.  He started with flames-there were 6 of them.  Then he connected them all by adding the heart.  At the bottom of the painting it looks like an anchor to me with the Holy Spirit at the top in the shape of a dove.  Ever since I can remember I have always been able to “see” things in shapes and color.  This little boy can too.  I asked him if he was feeling the Holy Spirit and he said, “ yes.” 

I was feeling led to wave a flag over the children while they created.  I have never done that in public before and it just felt so natural.  I waved over and around them while they were painting and I was praying too.   I was swept away in the motion and the music of the moment.

Each child made their own creations.  All I did was guide them, help them with the paint and encourage them.  It was a time of worship.

DSCF2283

There were many easels and we used markers, paint and crayons.

DSCF2288

All the children worked on this one-HS inspired.

3 crosses on the earth with a sun, blood and nail holes.

They know who Jesus is and what He did for them.

DSCF2286

This was paper rolled out on the floor for some of the smaller kids.

I see hearts, crosses and colors galore!

DSCF2292

 

DSCF2289

‘I love Jesus” by Logan

DSCF2293

 

I saw this several times…

A cross with a heart and wings.

 

DSCF2296

 

This is hard to read but it says,

“ GOD IS HEAR”….yes….hear….they were hearing from God….

DSCF2297

And then there’s this one…

Done by one boy during the whole service.  He sat and worked on this for 2 hours.  He just let it flow. 

“ God will save you!”

“The Seeing eyes”

“ The flesh”

“The healing hands”

“The blood”

The colors, the love, the life…..

(My heart is full and over flowing…)

DSCF2298

Now this…is worship.

Father, God I praise you and thank you for all you are doing, have done and will do.  I ask your blessings over these children and ask that you pour out your creativity in them throughout the weeks to come.  I ask that you give them dreams and visions of you and that they will create for you and about you to share with other people.  I thank you for parents and children who “color outside the lines” of life and inside the confines of YOUR HEART.  You ARE the seal over our hearts and we praise you, adore you and lift up your Name in all that we do.” Amen

I woke up this morning thinking…

“ These kids are my team and we will create for God and help change our part of the world for Christ through art.  We WERE BORN TO CREATE.”  Thank you GOD!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Worship through art with kids! | Art-n-Stuff | Worship Leaders

Leave a Reply

