Coloring Outside the Lines

Standard

As children we are told to “color inside the lines” and use the colors that trees and leaves and grass really are. While that is fine and good and can be used to teach things like order, taking directions, and the use of color. But it also defeats creativity and the ability to take a chance and try new things.  Creatively, children are uninhibited up to a certain age.  Give them crayons and paper and they might see and draw angels on orange clouds and trees with purple leaves, pink grass and a God who looks like ironman!  ( and isn’t Ironman STRONG  like JESUS ?)  WOOO!  I love that about being a kid.  Your creativity is endless and wild!

A few years ago I was substitute teaching in a classroom.  The kids were all coloring and having fun.  There was another sub in the room and this little boy was coloring with a black crayon.  He was happy and fine and having fun.  I just watched.  This other teacher went to the boy and told him not to use a black crayon because black was “ugly” and she proceeded to take it away from him.  Well, let me tell you- if you took my crayon out of my hand I would do exactly what he did- have a fit-and boy did he!  He was not happy.  Well this went on for a few minutes and I finally told the kid that it was okay to color with a black crayon.  I cant tell you what I wanted to say to the other sub because it’s not nice.  Let’s just say I had to exercise self control and a sense of sanity.  When I see adults berating children it burns me up. 

I have also heard parents who tell their kids that their picture is not pretty because they didn’t stay in the lines on the coloring sheet.  DON’T DO THIS TO YOUR CHILD!  Or that they didn’t use the “right” colors.  Really?   Quite frankly I do not like coloring pages much, but I have done some for kids at Christmas and other times.  I tell them to color the whole page and don’t worry about the lines.  God gave us creativity as a way to express HIS heart-not to stay in a line. 

I believe that every person on the planet has the ability to be creative and to create beautiful art.  I believe that as children this is drilled out of us because we are taught that arts are not important in this world.  Look around. What do you see?  Art in it’s finest form.  Someone designed the keyboard I am typing on, someone designed the font that I am writing in and someone created this blog page because of the creativity that God instilled in the world.

We SERVE a GOD of COLOR and of LIFE.  Our world is VISUAL and filled with creativity to the BRIM.  Look at the rainbow-our color wheel comes from there-ROYGBIV.  7 colors. Completion.  Promise and LIFE.  The treasure at the end of the rainbow is called HEAVEN.  The streets are gold and filled with colors we have never seen.  Eternity is endless-there are no boundaries, no lines, no crayon grabbing teachers and definitely no coloring pages.   Our CREATOR is the Master Artist and I believe He wants us to create beautiful things FOR HIM.  This is part of our worship. 

10080955-pouring-paint-consisting-cmyk-colors-from-its-bucket-creating-splash

I don’t create for anyone but Him ( this is why it is hard for me to do what people request-it’s not the same)   and as I am creating I am worshipping with my paint brush-every stroke becomes a prayer, a scripture, a word, a praise and a thought of God Almighty.    Each stroke leads me closer to my God and I walk into the painting with Him.  I have discovered that I cannot paint without Him and He is the passion that pushes and pulls the paint across the canvas.  It doesn’t matter if anyone else likes it-it’s for Him. 

I used to think I had to be of a certain “quality” of an artist to be called an artist.  That was the lie of the world.  The truth is that I have always been an artist but never saw myself that way and once I started seeing myself the way God saw me- things changed.  I was living under my 8th grade guidance counselors negative words, “ oh you have to be really good to do that-why don’t you pursue business?”  HA!  I wanted to be in art, but her judgment of me sent me down a different path.  36 years later those words still ring in my ears, but they no longer define who I am- God does.  AMEN!  Today I know better and like the little boy with the black crayon- I’m going to color the way I want with the colors I choose and I will definitely NOT be in the lines of what the world says is good or bad.  I will honor my GOD with my creativity and it will be holy and pleasing to Him and Him alone.  The world does not own me; my GOD does. 

DSCF2110

THIS is why I am so drawn to coloring and painting and being creative with kids.  I love their energy and their thought process about God.  There are no limits on God in their eyes.  Tractor trailers have angel wings and lions have rainbow colored hair.  Life is about living in color and living out loud for God in all that we do. 

So, throw out the lines, get out the mixing pallet and splash around in the colors of life-they are the promises you are walking into…your destiny is at the end of the rainbow-a new beginning with the God who gives us an abundant life filled with the colors that only He can make.  With every stroke you paint and every color you choose- do it with God in mind and one day HE will bring all things into completion!  What a masterpiece that will be!  Let’s live to paint to tell His story so that the world can see and know the God who gave it all…..

Get out of the lines, get messy and have fun!

424899_392683850742494_100000026463287_1508778_136290726_n

 

Smile

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Terrificly written ! [if that’s a word, no rules there either ! ] I like it that you have no boundaries when it comes to art, as it should be. If it makes you happy and makes God happy that is all that matters. No rules! The older I get the more I think that way too. When it comes to Art and decorating etc. I am appalled at that woman who took the black crayon from that child and criticized him for his choice. Wouldn’t you like to find him now and see what he is up to? Love the Lion and I feel like I could reach out and touch his face and it would feel like that velvety part of a horses muzzle. Love the can of paint splashing out of the can.

Leave a Reply

