Arise!

Standard

Is God telling you to do something?  Does it seem strange, or doubtful that you will be able to do this “thing” that God is talking to you about?  Do you want to just lay down and say, “no, not me Lord.  Just take me away from it, I’m no good and I can’t do this?” 

God will not relent until you surrender to Him, so you might as well quit pouting and start embracing what God is asking of you.  The sooner you do the more exciting your life will get!

Just ask me.  LOL

I am one of the most unlikely people to do what I am doing.  I had a high school friend tell me what a shocker it was when she found out I was pastoring a church.  Do you know what I said?  “ Don’t feel like you are alone in that thought- I nearly fainted.”  LOL 

But here’s the thing- when God lays something on your heart-He’s not going to quit poking, prodding or sending angels to take care of you until His will is accomplished!  YOU are the only person who can do that particular job for that time.  If you don’t believe me- read Esther.

It’s not about us-but the GOD who lives in US.  We are vessels where the Spirit of God lives and when the Spirit gets stirred up-God will see it through.  It’s just easier to be on the same page with God. 

So, if there’s something that he is asking you to do-stop, drop and pray and then LISTEN.

God is always with you, He is always guiding and leading you and all he wants for us is good.

Take some time to read about Elijah in 1 Kings 18-19.  Take notes. See what happens and ask God to reveal the Holy scriptures to you in a way that YOU can hear Him and know that he IS God.  Happy reading and praying!  God is definitely at work in these passages and in this painting.  He has already spoken to a few of you …thanks for letting me know….

WOW!

DSCF2006

 

1 Kings 19: 1- 16

Now Ahab told Jezebel all that Elijah had done, and [a](A)how he had killed all the prophets with the sword. 2 Then Jezebel sent a messenger to Elijah, saying, “(B)So may the gods do to me and even more, if I do not make your [b]life as the [c]life of one of them by tomorrow about this time.” 3 And he[d]was afraid and arose and ran for his [e]life and came to (C)Beersheba, which belongs to Judah, and left his servant there. 4 But he himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness, and came and sat down under a [f]juniper tree; and (D)he requested for himself that he might die, and said, “It is enough; now, O Lord, take my [g]life, for I am not better than my fathers.” 5 He lay down and slept under a [h]juniper tree; and behold, there was (E)an angel touching him, and he said to him, “Arise, eat.” 6 Then he looked and behold, there was at his head a bread cake baked on hot stones, and a jar of water. So he ate and drank and lay down again. 7 The angel of the Lord came again a second time and touched him and said, “Arise, eat, because the journey is too great for you.” 8 So he arose and ate and drank, and went in the strength of that food (F)forty days and forty nights to (G)Horeb, the mountain of God.

Then he came there to a cave and lodged there; and behold, (H)the word of the Lord came to him, and He said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” 10 He said, “(I)I have been very zealous for the Lord, the God of hosts; for the sons of Israel have forsaken Your covenant, (J)torn down Your altars and killed Your prophets with the sword. And (K)I alone am left; and they seek my life, to take it away.”

11 So He said, “(L)Go forth and stand on the mountain before the Lord.” And behold, the Lord was passing by! And (M)a great and strong wind was rending the mountains and breaking in pieces the rocks before the Lord; but the Lord was not in the wind. And after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. 12 After the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire (N)a sound of a gentle blowing. 13 When Elijah heard it, (O)he wrapped his face in his mantle and went out and stood in the entrance of the cave. And behold, (P)a voice came to him and said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” 14 Then he said, “(Q)I have been very zealous for the Lord, the God of hosts; for the sons of Israel have forsaken Your covenant, torn down Your altars and killed Your prophets with the sword. And I alone am left; and they seek my life, to take it away.”

15 The Lord said to him, “Go, return on your way to the wilderness of Damascus, and when you have arrived, (R)you shall anoint Hazael king over Aram; 16 and (S)Jehu the son of Nimshi you shall anoint king over Israel; and (T)Elisha the son of Shaphat of Abel-meholah you shall anoint as prophet in your place.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

