Uncle Harold

Standard

As a child my sister and I  spent many hours and miles in the back seat of the family car traveling back and forth from NY to Virginia to Granny’s house in Fauquier County.   “ Mooommmmm…she’s on my side…tell her to move over…”  We would count the colors of cars and play silly word games.       I can remember groaning from my side of the back seat as we listened to Johnny Cash ( and others) on the radio for those 365 miles!  My mother would sing and Dad would drive.  ( They thought we weren’t paying attention, but we were…. LOL)  I forgot how much I loved Johnny Cash until a friend posted something about him earlier tonight.  Johnny Cash reminds me of my Uncle Harold.  He loved Johnny Cash and I loved my Uncle! 

me as a kid254555_2135060097112_1264364311_32565318_6441298_n

I sat here the other night and listened to Corynn tell my parents her Nicaragua stories and I thought of Uncle Harold.  I even said to my Mom, “ Uncle Harold would have gotten a big kick out Corynn- she’s just like him!”  Isn’t that amazing how someone your child has never known can be such a big part of who they are?  That’s God for ya….

Anyway- this one’s for Mom and her favorite brother Harold….they used to ride around in the car and talk.  She’d eat twinkies and drink Pepsi and he would drink a can of Budweiser in a brown paper bag and smoke Marlboro cigarettes.  I loved hearing his stories and my heart misses my Uncle Harold.   

This one’s for you Bones…can’t wait to see you again….

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

