What a weeeeek!!!!!!!!!!!

Standard

These are my new friends Maria and Joel.  They live in Pakistan and are doing the work of the Lord there.  We met through FB and I found out that Maria, Joel’s sister, is an artist.  So I began sharing my artwork with her via FB.  In this picture is a drawing that Maria drew from one of my drawings.  I am blown away at how God works when we share what God has put in us to share with others.  This is a picture of children receiving communion from Christ.  I am praying that Maria and Joel will use it in service to teach the children in Pakistan about what it means to not only receive communion but to be IN COMMUNION with Christ in their daily walk. 

Maria 2

This was my drawing. 

colorful communion 2012

I am amazed.

This is only the beginning of something that God is blossoming in my heart.  He is also using the members of my church to share God with folks that I would never meet.

Here is how….

Many years ago a friend of mine started making deer antler crosses.  He gave me one that I cherished.  I went on a mission trip and gave mine away to a woman who was making glass bead fish necklaces for missionaries.  She was my pastor’s first Slovakian convert.  Her name was Marta.  My friend who makes the deer antler crosses name is Martin.  Funny huh?  Anyway- I wanted another necklace and he didn’t have anymore antlers to make any.  So, I had antlers and figured out how to make one for myself.  Well, once a few people saw the one I made- it grew from there.  Pretty soon I was making more.  The last bunch went to Israel with a group of people who were visiting the Holy Land. 

Well, I have always given away the things that I make-it just comes natural for me.  I don’t feel like I am supposed to hang onto things too long.  I always pray over things as I am working on them.  The HS is always speaking- even in the middle of the cutting, sanding and cleaning up.  We just have to tune in.  At Christmas I gave one of my church members an antler cross and he loved it.  So he brought me antlers to make more.  Well, he works in a lumber mill and during lunch he reads his bible.  All the guys know this.  He has started showing and giving away these deer antler crosses to the guys he works with.  He told me that the guys know he reads his bible and who he is in God- a man of faith.  But he said what is happening with the crosses are that they are opening a door for conversation that a bible wasn’t able to.  It is sharing your faith-what is in your heart- through the act of creating something and then giving it away in the name of the Lord.  Here is a picture of one of the crosses.  Now the guys are asking for more so they can share and conversations about God are being had that weren’t being had before.  These are big, burly lumber men that I would never meet.  But my church member works with them everyday and He is making disciples in a new way.  It’s exciting and it is something to shout a praise to God for! 

 

deer cross

 

My church member also brought me some freshly cut lumber last week.  Hickory.  It is beautiful.  Yesterday I made this cross for his boss.  ( see below)

The cross is hickory and the base piece is wormy chestnut.  The wormy chestnut came from the church member’s home-actually from his wife’s father’s home.

Well, I gave the piece to him today to give to his boss.  I told him where each piece came from because he didn’t recognize the wormy chestnut since it had been cut and sanded.  When he heard what I said, his eyes got big around and he said, “you just don’t know…”

and I didn’t.

It turns out that the wormy chestnut belonged to his father in law and his father in law had a lot to do with teaching HIS BOSS about who God was and is! 

I didn’t know that when I made it and I actually put the base on as an afterthought…or was that the work of the Holy Spirit?   So the circle continues through these pieces of wood.

Call me crazy, but whatever it is- it’s all about GOD and I love how He works in the mysterious and how He always AFFIRMS the visions he gives us and when we listen, obey, and walk-He does the rest. 

hickory cross

I have seen a man come to life and get excited about going to work and sharing God through the giving of deer antlers and wooden crosses.  It tickles me to watch and I know that God is smiling and cheering us on because I can feel His Spirit with us. 

Through reading the book BORN to CREATE by Theresa Dedmon I have had my eyes opened to something spectacular that God wants to do through our the use of our talents and gifts.   He IS our creative spirit.  We ALL Have one.  Some of you are saying “ I can’t, I don’t, I don’t know how.”  But here’s the thing – “you DO, you CAN and let me SHOW you how!”  This isn’t about me-it’s about the Holy Spirit working in and through the Body of Christ to get God’s message out to the world in a new and creative way.  Jesus gave of Himself- and we are called to do the same when we use our talents and work in the gifts of the spirit to share them with the world.  We are not hang onto them- they are given to build up the body and this is what I see happening.  God’s WORD is TRUTH.

God has given me a vision for a new ministry and ever since he laid it on my heart he has been affirming it every step of the way.  Through His Word,  people, dreams and circumstances. 

Today I BELIEVE.

Thank you Lord.  Forgive me for doubting, forgive me for looking backwards and thank you for showing me more than once.  Let’s do this thing! 

Smile

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. To those of you reading this comment, you really need to see this cross in person. Beautiful ! And I’m not just saying that because the artist is my daughter !!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

