No room at the Inn

Standard

Luke 2: 7 And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn.

 

THERE WAS NO ROOM AT THE INN

 

In this scripture we hear of an order for a census that sends Joseph and Mary to Bethlehem to be counted on a list for taxes. Nazareth is 90 miles from Bethlehem and the trip would have been a long and grueling 3 days for a pregnant woman and her husband.

We are not given any details by Luke about the innkeeper with no feelings and we are not told how long it might have taken to find a place to stay. Luke keeps it simple. She gave birth, she wrapped the baby up and then put him a manger. He spared us the details.

Have you thought about how the baby might have gasped for his first breath of air? Or how he searched for his mothers milk as his arms and legs were flailing in a feed trough? Or how about the earthy breath of the animals blowing on the Prince of Peace?

Or how about the mystery of the King who came to earth as a baby to take on our sins? Do we see the nail scarred hands of the baby as we think about the birth of our Savior? Do we see where the wood of the manger changes into the cross at Calvary? Do we see a baby or a Savior and is there room in our hearts for what lies before us?

Is our own inn full?

 

101_4639

Part of how I prepare my sermons is often done in art form.  When this happens-it is like giving birth to twins.  One on paper with words and the other on canvas with paint.  Sometimes I take the paintings to church to share, other times I don’t.  It just depends on the leading of the Holy Spirit.    My original intentions for this painting was much different and this is the end result.

What you see is a heart laying on a bed of hay in a manger.  The manger is rising up out of the city-bigger than life itself.  The guiding star is overhead and two little angels with trumpets.  The heart is vibrant, alive and fat.  That’s how my own heart was feeling at the time….FULL!!!  like I said…it’s like giving birth…God came down as a baby and landed in the middle of a town that was filled with people who were there for other reasons.  But the baby was there for one reason only- to bring us life.  The doors to the inn were closed, as were many others.    No one likes to have a door closed in their face-do they?  I don’t.  It excludes people, keeps people out.  God came down to invite us IN in the strangest way-through a baby in a manger. 

What is in your INN?  Is the door open or closed?  Either way-God is ALWAYS there and He is waiting for you to invite Him in….just don’t wait too long….

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

