“Spirit” to spirit

Standard

 

I have a friend who talks about how riding her 1300 VSTAR is a part of her  PASSIONATE worship to the Lord.  When I first met her and heard her make this statement, in front of hundreds of people ,it resonated in my soul and I remember shouting, “ Woohoo! Woohoo! Someone else gets me!!!!!!!”  It seemed like I was the only one who was coming up out of the chair at her words and that was okay.

31848_1484381430552_1264364311_31339050_1627258_a

I love riding and being on my motorcycle always, always, always brings my attention to God.  My sense of smell is heightened, as well as vision.  I see things I wouldn’t normally see in a vehicle.   God made us to enjoy the things that He has allowed us to have- ( and everything we have is a privilege and a blessing from GOD) and can I just say that I am PASSIONATE about riding my motorcycle!  ( Just like my friend!) 

Well, today, the day after Thanksgiving 2012, I felt the pull to ride.  Yes, it’s cool, but not too cool to ride.  It’s been a long week with a lot of things going on-pulled here and there mentally, physically and spiritually.  A week of prayer requests, ministry,  sickness, holidays  and praises to God for all that He is doing and wants to do!   Sometimes these things can make you feel dried up, worn out and just spent.    I was feeling the need to “get in the wind” and worship!

So I did.

ribbon

I have this ribbon fetish going on.  I have every color of ribbon you can think of and I took a generous length of all the colors and tied them in a bunch. Then I tied that to my motorcycle handlebar.  I know, weird, right?  Well, here’s the thing…the colors remind me of who God wants me to be.  He gave us the fruits of the Spirit and in each one I see a color. 

Galatians 5:16

So I say, let the Holy Spirit guide your lives.

5:22

But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, and self-control.

5:26

Since we are living by the Spirit, let us follow the Spirit’s leading in EVERY  part of our lives.

 

I identify the ribbon with the Holy Spirit and the color with fruit.  Well- when you get in the wind the ribbon goes everywhere-flitting here, then there, and tying itself up in knots!

ribbon 3

As I rode and watched the ribbon flipping around and winding itself around the handlebars I was reminded that this is how God wants me to be.  He wants me to relax and let the Spirit flow freely- just like this ribbon was doing.  When we operate in the Spirit it changes things around us-it changes people, situations and relationships.  When we choose to put on love instead of hate the world sees WHO God is and how tenderhearted He is.  When we choose joy over despair we gain strength in the Lord for scripture says , ‘ the JOY of the Lord is my strength.”  ( Nehemiah 8:10) When we choose to lean into Christ in our desperate times we will experience a joy unspeakable deep within us.  It is really unexplainable.  You just know that God is there-taking care of you and He will walk you through it.  We aren’t promised an easy road but we are promised help along the way.  The Holy Spirit is our helper. 

John 15: 26

“But I will send you the Advocate[b]—the Spirit of truth.

What is an advocate?  A friend, a counselor, an encourager. Someone who is there for you, a good friend.  When we get down to the nuts and bolts of life-the pieces that hold it all together are really not our friends, but THE Friend, the Holy Spirit and our relationship with God. 

ribbons

We need to be so entwined around God that we can’t tell one from the other.  I saw that in my little ribbon ride.  At times the ribbon was twirling and dancing around in the wind like a little funnel.  The force of the wind in the moment was creating all the colors to cling to one another. This is what we are to do when we are in a funnel of change cling tightly to our Creator-hang on for life!    When we know who lives in us and how much we are loved then things change inside of us and the way we react to our situation at hand has the ability to shift the atmosphere around us.  When we choose to see life over death and to speak life and light into the world with the words we use, then things begin to collide in the atmosphere around us, causing discouragement and death to break up and be replaced by life and love.  We are called to edify, to build up and encourage one another.

The faster I drove the more the ribbons whipped around.  At one point one of the ribbons came “undone” and flipped off into the wind-leaving a deposit of color behind.  Whoever finds it will probably wonder, ‘ how did this get here?”  Hahahahaha!  It was that crazy preacher lady riding in the wind again!  In that moment I realized that when I live and move and operate under the power of the HS that I, too, will leave behind a deposit of supernatural love, life and truth.  I want to be “undone” for Christ !  That only made me want to undo all the ribbons and let them fly away-but did I?  No.  I was too selfish.  I hung onto them.  Another lesson.  We cannot hang onto the Holy Spirit-it was given to us to GIVE AWAY to others.  If we cling too tight-we crush the Spirit.  We must let go of our selfishness and let the Spirit flow in and out as He would-not as we would.  Letting go means being FLEXIBLE.  Flexibility requires bending and moving in the wind-like an old oak tree swaying in a storm.  We must also be pliable, moist and ready to move at a moment’s notice.  I’m learning, however I have a long way to go yet!  It’s a process of moving closer to the Lord every day.  We pray for eyes to see and ears and to hear and then we must not let anything distract us and sometimes we must get into the wind and let the Spirit blow on us ( and on our ribbons) in order to see and hear again.

I thank my God for His mysterious ways and for speaking to me through the colors of ribbon and the wind of life.  Let me encourage you today to go buy some ribbon-not just any ribbon-but ribbon that is the color of the rainbow.  Tie yourself a bunch together as a reminder of the colorful God we serve-the God of life and light and sound and color. 

THIS is what He wants us to live in- the colors of life.

Joy, Peace, Hope, Love and Faith.

He wants us to dance and sing with Him like a ribbon in the wind…

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. I totally understand this concept, riding and being with God. I get that feeling at the beach when I look across that mighty body of water to the horizon and think of the Almighty and all he has created, it is so awesome and I feel at peace with the Lord and humbled in his presence. That is why I like the beach, I am NOT a swimmer. So the beach is a God place for me. I have to see the ocean at least once a year for that very reason. What a great idea on the ribbons, you can buy those things but you MADE yours !

  2. Awesome, we all need to find that JOY that the Lord has given us to use to recharge our batteries and to be thankful for. The beach and photography is my way of feeling the presence of the Lord in all that I see at the ocean and in everything I photograph. Time alone is so important for me. Alone at the beach, alone in the beautiful nature that God has created for us to slow down and appreciate.

    Great post..

Leave a Reply

