Hope hangs on

Standard

I didn’t sleep well last night and when I did I woke up with a head full of creativity.

101_4452 

I kept “seeing” one leaf hanging on a tree…I began to think about how that one leaf has to hang on “for dear life” during this storm.  That turned into me thinking about my friend who has been hanging on for dear life in her faith.  I realized that she is the leaf.  The one last leaf on the tree that hasn’t dropped out, hasn’t given up and has hung on “for dear  life.”

“God saved you through faith as an act of kindness. You had nothing to do with it. Being saved is a gift from God. It’s not the result of anything you’ve done, so no one can brag about it.”  Ephesians 2:8-9

101_4451

As I began to paint the tree and it started to come to life I began to see Jesus hanging on the tree.  If you look closely you will notice how “muscular” the tree branches are and that there are only two branches-Our Savior’s arms are stretched out for you and I.   If you look a little deeper into the tree you will note the shape of a body lying in the purple “bark.”   That’s the Body of the One who died for you.  That’s the Body of the One whose love never fails when we hang on. That’s the Body of the One who hung on for YOU. 

He used his servant body to carry our sins to the Cross so we could be rid of sin, free to live the right way. His wounds became your healing.  1 Peter 2:24

You see the wound in the side with the water and blood rushing out- that represents the LIVING WATER that GIVES LIFE ETERNAL.  We can only have this one way by BELEIVING that Jesus IS Lord.

John 7:37

“If anyone thirsts, let him come to me and drink. Rivers of living water will brim and spill out of the depths of anyone who believes in me this way, just as the Scripture says.

Sometimes when our faith is tested and tried we feel like giving up, but we know if we hang on for a little while longer we will eventually see glory.  The heart of GOD is where the glory lives.  Look a little deeper into the heart and you see many colors there-these are the colors of joy, peace, hope, love-the fruits of the Spirit.  When we operate in the Spirit we receive these fruits and that leads us to the Glory Hole-the place where God longs to take us daily. 

101_4452

1 Chronicles 16:27

Glory and majesty are all around him.
Strength and joy can be seen in the place where he lives.

We don’t have to DO anything but be in HIS presence.  God desires a relationship with each of us-and in this relationship we find healing and hope…but sometimes we have to hang on with everything we have to get there-just like this lone leaf.   If  you are feeling dry and parched, Come, to the Living Waters-the Word of God and drop your heart down His Well for a refreshing drink.  It may take many times to get filled up again-but don’t give up, don’t give in and hang on for dear life- after all-Jesus did for you! 

1 Corinthians 13:8

Love never fails.

 

101_4454

The title came from another friend…thank you…!!!

While painting I spent myself in worship to Him.

“It is written, ‘Worship the Lord your God. He is the only one you should serve.’”  Luke 4:8

and I opened my Alabaster Box…let me encourage you to let it all go and let God take over…you won’t regret it… love God with all you’ve got…pastor d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Wow…just got back from a Bible Study and the Holy Spirit had directed us to study James 1:2-4 about patience and persistence. We just spent the past 2 hours talking about “standing”, about “hanging on,” about never giving up. Holy Spirit is amazing! ( Tom and Sharon Edwards Bowles)

Leave a Reply

