The JOY of this JOURNEY in pictures

Standard

101_4399

 

“Thousands of tired, nerve-shaken, over-civilized people are beginning to find out going to the mountains is going home; that wilderness is a necessity…”

-John Muir

101_4378

“The greatest gift of life on the mountain is time. Time to think or not think, read or not read, scribble or not scribble — to sleep and cook and walk in the woods, to sit and stare at the shapes of the hills. I produce nothing but words; I consumer nothing but food, a little propane, a little firewood. By being utterly useless in the calculations of the culture at large I become useful, at last, to myself.”

Phillip Connors

101_4391

 

Some people spend their entire lives reading but never get beyond reading the words on the page, they don’t understand that the words are merely stepping stones placed across a fast-flowing river, and the reason they’re there is so that we can reach the farther shore, it’s the other side that matters.

 

101_4395

 

If you dam a river it stagnates. Running water is beautiful water. So be a channel.

101_4393

Eventually, all things merge into one, and a river runs through it.

Norman Maclean

 

101_4387

 

Focus on the journey, not the destination.

Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.”

Greg Anderson

101_4383

 

“And if these mountains had eyes, they would wake to find two strangers in their fences, standing in admiration as a breathing red pours its tinge upon earth’s shore. These mountains, which have seen untold sunrises, long to thunder praise but stand reverent, silent so that man’s weak praise should be given God’s attention.” 

D. Miller

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. I would have to agree, the mountains, a lake or stream can refocus your attitude and adjust your priorities. So soothing and calming and as for the journey against the destination…the journey is sometimes the best part.

Leave a Reply

