KERPLOP!

Standard

Do you ever have one of those moments when God says: “ WHOA!”

Dk 2

( DK and COMET-ALL photos stolen from DK’s FB page-LOL) 

My friend Donna Kaye can understand that term well.  She is my horse riding buddy from way back.  (I miss those times!)  I remember DK teaching me how to ride a horse and talking about body language and how a horse listens.  I also remember falling off her horses a few times.  One time we were riding through a field and kerplop-head over heels I went in the green grass.  Nothing hurt except my pride.  Punkin knew we were headed for a hole and she took a different course and I stayed behind.  Horses are so in tune with their surroundings and I am discovering that I need to be more like a horse!   LOL  Live and learn, right? 

Dk

When God says, “ WHOA” you better giddyup and listen.  ( Sorry DK I can’t help myself…I know you are laughing-but I really did take those lessons to heart-especially all that singing we did…the Great Adventure…some things you never forget!) 

dk 3

Well, this same thing happened to me last night.  I was walking in the dark, with no light, heading for the back yard.  Little did I know I would stumble and fall and get hurt.  I had just turned around and said to Jessica-one of Emily’s friends- “ be careful with that stick-I don’t want anyone to get hurt.”  Then down I went.  Just like that.  ( and isn’t that just like GOD to show me that when we try to walk in the dark- dumb things happen and people get hurt-so don’t walk in the dark! ) 

I twisted my ankle, hurt my pride, lost the marshmallows and took a ride to the ER.  The good news is that nothing is broken and the bad news is that there will be a bill at the end of this road.  I am thankful that we have insurance and that it wasn’t one of the kids.  The last ER visit was Emily’s ride in an ambulance.  Very scary.

dark

This morning I realized that maybe this was a good thing and that maybe it was a sign for me to slow down and stop trying to do everything.  The words “ you do too much” have been ringing in my ears.  I’ve been at my church for 4 months now and we have been going full tilt.  I have been feeling like something needed to be let loose.  That something was me.  Like a clogged drain needs some DRANO- every now and then I do too.  So I guess this was my DRANO moment.  The moment to realize that I am not Wonder Woman, that I am not Jesus, and that I can’t do everything and that maybe others need to be asked to do things too.  When I try to control everything-I am robbing others of the joy of being a blessing. ouch, ouch, ouch.  Thanks for that reminder my great pastor friend!  You know who you are. 

blindfold

This week’s sermon is about blindness.  It started out as the blindness of the Pharisees but it has ended with my own blindness-the blindness of the DO-ER.   Yes, DO-ing can be a sin and it is one that I struggle with quite often and so did Martha.  I need to be more like Mary and rest in God’s presence and promise.    At least this time it hasn’t taken me so long to see it, although it did take me getting sick and then hurt, to realize I am my own worst enemy.   But then, aren’t we all?  Thank God for grace-He pours it over us new everyday! 

Gentle Jesus ~   Triple_e

  Life is basic training for what is ahead and above.  However fumbling, failing and inadequate I may feel- I am thankful to be a servant for Christ.

Until then I will hop along the dusty trail right behind the Rabbi…

blessings for your own journey-keep putting one foot in front of the other!

d.

dustofyourrabbi

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. I am so glad you didn’t break anything…PTL..

    We all fall, we all come short and we all get up again…Get back on that horse and RIDE…

    Love ya,
    Robin

Leave a Reply

