One lone goose

Standard

 

Honk! Honk! Honk!

I heard the call of the goose.

Honk! Honk! Honk! Honk!

It got a little louder.

HONK! HONK! HONK!HONK!

Desperation rising.

I looked down river and there she was-

honking away….

The longer I listened the more I “heard…”

from God, that is…

Geese travel in flocks and you rarely see one alone unless they have gone astray.

Let’s look at that word astray for a minute:

it means to “wander about”

Isaiah 53:6 says this:

All of us, like sheep, have strayed away. We have left God’s paths to follow our own.

We all stray from the flock from time to time.  We do this when we want to do things our way and not God’s way.  That will always take us down a road that leads to nowhere- away from God.   Sometimes we know we are in trouble, and like the goose, we can call out for help.  “Help me find my way back to the family ( flock.) “ 

God loves for us to call out to Him. 

Psalm 86:1-7

Bend down, O Lord, and hear my prayer;
answer me, for I need your help.
2 Protect me, for I am devoted to you.
Save me, for I serve you and trust you.
You are my God.
3 Be merciful to me, O Lord,
for I am calling on you constantly.
4 Give me happiness, O Lord,
for I give myself to you.
5 O Lord, you are so good, so ready to forgive,
so full of unfailing love for all who ask for your help.
6 Listen closely to my prayer, O Lord;
hear my urgent cry.
7 I will call to you whenever I’m in trouble,
and you will answer me.

It’s simple.  God wants his family together.  He sends us out to find the lost family members and bring them home- back to the flock or the nest.  Geese depend on each other for survival.  They mate for life.  When a goose gets sick or wounded two others stay with him until he flies again.  Isn’t this just like God-taking care of all those little details? 

We make things so complicated.  God already has it all worked out.  If we would just follow God we wouldn’t get lost.  But, since we do go astray from time to time-I thank God for people who guide us back onto the right path.

Today I thank God for geese who honk, rivers that are crystal clear and for a God who answers when we cry out.

Thank you Lord for loving me…

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

