A Masterpiece!

Standard

Ephesians 2: 10 For we are God’s ( workmanship ) masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

canvas-from-scratch

The word WORKMANSHIP means “ Work of Art” in the greek. Have you thought of yourself as God’s masterpiece in the making? Well you are! You are a work of art! When I draw, I add a line here, a scribble there, some shading a little color and POW! God is the same way with us- we are the work of His hands! When we come to this knowledge and we claim that we are HIS then the world will know God and stand in awe of Him! To God be the glory!

images (4)

 

Think of it like planting a flower garden. We put seeds in the dirt, we water, we fertilize and we WAIT! What else do we do while we wait? We fret, we tend and we watch and pray that our crop will produce a harvest.

PeaReportj

One day we see the tendrils of the young plant poke through the soil and we get down as close as we can to inspect the new life-to see what’s coming up and to stand in awe of the workings of nature and man through God.

We say, “ what will it look like? I wonder what color it will be-it said pink-but there may be a pink waiting inside that we’ve never seen! “ We wait in great anticipation- don’t we?

 

God is the same way with us. He has put us here to be HIS-to care for the earth and all that is in it. As we tend and nurture the earth and others we become closer to God. He feeds our tender shoots and makes our roots grow deeper when we dig into the rich soil of His Word. And guess what?

181141_4396247630022_1255184341_n

Just as we peer at the tender shoots of new life- God does the same with us! He waits in great anticipation for us to bloom and when we do- HE comes a little closer to inspect His own work and then he encourages us to keep going toward perfection. The closer we get to perfection- the closer our walk is with Him. We begin to learn to abide in Him by walking and talking with Him there in the garden. His garden. This is HIS desire –for us to walk with him- to rest in His presence. We don’t have to DO anything but be still and know that He is God.

pinkflower

Remember when Adam and Eve walked with God? They could hear Him coming. One day they walked out of obedience and that walk took them right out of the garden. What heartache that must have been for them. And what about Enoch? You could say that God and Enoch were pretty tight-so tight that God decided to take him home forever. What a friend we have in God!

I love the words to the song “ In the Garden”

walking in the garden

“I come to the garden alone-while the dew is still on the roses, and the voice I hear falling on my ear-the Son of God-discloses. He walks with me and talks with me and tells me I am his own….”

So today I want to encourage you to walk in God’s garden of grace-to pray for yourself and others and to eat the fruit of God- love, joy, peace, patience, kindess and humility.

YOU are a masterpiece in God’s garden!

HummerPetunias 003

Here’s an afterthought- do you see yourself as a “weed” in the garden of life…or a “flower?”

Your perspective of yourself can change everything about you…how you see others-how you walk, talk and even dance!    When you begin to fall deeper in love with God-you see yourself and others in a whole new light.  God’s light.  Light changes everything. 

Do you remember when Jesus wept at Lazarus’ tomb?  He wasn’t crying for Lazarus- he was crying because the people had no vision.  WE, you and I,  must have the vision for the people.  We must weep for their blindness and then ask God to part the veil.  He can and he does!  Ask God to change your perspective from the inside out and then watch what happens inside of you, then outside and all around your world-one person at a time.

It isn’t what we do, but GOD who makes us WHO we are!

I choose to be a flower…how about you?

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

