In the garden……

Standard

in the garden2

God is sooooooooooooo good….he affirms what we are hearing through other people so that we know we are right on track and today he did that for me…for little old unworthy me…wow!

We had a pastor meeting this morning and the devotion was about being in the garden…

haha!  I had started this drawing long before that meeting!  I have been reading a book about abiding in Christ.  The past 3 chapters have caused me to hunger for more and more  of God’s presence.

The Secret of Clinging, The Secret of Walking and the Secret of Buying Oil.

“I cling to your testimonies: O Lord, do not put me to shame!” Psalm 119:31

The author says this:  “During crisis season, the secret place becomes our source of survival as we come aside to cling to Him and cry out for help.” 

Are you in a crisis?  Do you long for more of God?   God longs-yearns-for YOUR presence.  Did you know that?  You won’t learn how to do this in seminary-it is something that cannot be taught or bought.  You have to practice it on a daily basis-spend time with God in His Word- ask God to show you what He wants you to know as you read through the Holy scriptures.  Have a conversation with Him as you walk through ,the “garden,” the Word of God.  God desires for us to be clingy-to cling to HIM alone! 

Listen to this scripture from Song of Solomon 8:5:

“ Who is this coming up from the wilderness, leaning upon her beloved?”

Let me ask you- who is your beloved?

Do you know that you are God’s?  That he loves you with a fiery, jealous, passion and that He desires all of the time you can possibly give him?  When we aren’t clinging to Christ we are clinging to other things-let me encourage you to drop those things and pick up the things of eternity. 

This picture is all about me leaning on my beloved Jesus, walking through the garden of grace.  While there we walk, we talk, we cry, he holds me up and I am His Bride.  The Living Waters refresh my soul as I commune with my Creator God.  The pottery vessels are full of refreshing water and the communion elements await as we approach the throne of grace. The Body-the Living Bread and the Blood of Christ.   Jesus gently guides me through the garden- which is His Word.  We walk upon the Holy Scrolls and they permeate me from the inside out.  As I am filled with His manna-the light of my heart burns ever higher, hotter and more passionate.  The Lampstand of my heart is lit and burning high.  My cup runneth over.  The oil of gladness is spilled and seeps into my being…I weep with joy as my night turns to day.  I cannot get enough of this Living bread…God has caused me to hunger for more and to yearn to go to deeper into the garden…to dig, to smell the soil and to simply spend some time there, on the face of the earth with Him. 

My heart skips a few beats and my hands shake at the thought of this going deeper into the forest-it is there that I know I will find my heart’s deepest desires….to be ONE with my beloved…

So…I ask for the help of the Holy Spirit-to make me strong when I am weak, to hold me up when I am wobbly and to take me ever deeper into the garden of God’s redeeming grace…

…it is here that the honeymoon begins and we dance to the tune of the angels trumpets…and the Lord rejoices over me with singing! 

I can finally breathe again.

( the funny thing is…I didn’t even know I was holding my breath…)  * sigh.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

