Enter in

Standard

 

communion art

John 6:35

Jesus told them, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never become hungry, and whoever believes in me will never become thirsty.

In remembrance of what Jesus did for us on Calvary- we come together to celebrate communion this morning. We remember that he was born of a virgin, that he came down from heaven in the form of a baby, to show us who our Heavenly Father is. Before the birth of Christ, we remember all the times that our Father has shown himself to us-through Creation, a Flood and the Exodus just to name a few.

This morning we pause to remember.

We remember when Jesus was 12 and his family was on their journey home. The young boy stayed behind in the temple. His parents were worried and when they returned to find him his mother said, ( Luke 2:48-49) “Son, why have you done this to us? Your father and I have been worried sick looking for you!” 49 Jesus said to them, “Why were you looking for me? Didn’t you realize that I had to be in my Father’s house?”

Here today, we are in Our Father’s house at Glenwood and we remember. We remember that Jesus was a son to Mary and Joseph as well as the Son of God. We hear through the Word of God that this Son was always about doing his Father’s work! He was busy turning water into wine, healing the blind, casting out demons and walking on water. He was His Father’s Son through and through.

He taught the disciples how to live, how to love and how to die. He was always about his Father’s work-dying to self so that all who came to know Him could be saved. John 3:16 – 17 says God loved the world this way: He gave his only Son so that everyone who believes in him will not die but will have eternal life. 17 God sent his Son into the world, not to condemn the world, but to save the world.

He saved the world by dying. While we cannot understand this great mystery, we do remember.

We remember the crowd saying “Crucify him! Crucify him!” ( Luke 23:21) He was stripped naked and he was whipped until his skin was bloody and in shreds.

He was forced to carry his cross to Calvary. He was condemned by the world, yet he came to save it.

He was nailed to the cross by his hands and feet and as he hung there with his life blood dripping on the ground he said this:

Luke 23:34 “Father, forgive them. For they don’t know what they’re doing.”

How many times do we receive forgiveness that we don’t deserve?

And how many times do we offer undeserved forgiveness? Not nearly enough. Jesus was a giver-let us give as freely of ourselves as He has given of himself for us.

We remember how the soldiers nailed his wrists and feet to the cross. Wham! Wham! Wham! He was hung to die between two thieves. One saw who Jesus was and he said:

( Luke 23) “Jesus, remember me when you enter your kingdom.” 43 Jesus said to him, “I can guarantee this truth: Today you will be with me in paradise.”

Then he took his last breath and died.

Communion is remembering where we came from and who gives us life. The bread represents the Body of Christ while the juice is the blood. As we receive the elements let us give God great thanksgiving for all that He has done for us through the giving of His Son, Jesus Christ. Jesus IS the CUP and we are to partake of all that He offers us, as often as we can. When we come forward to receive the bread and blood of life we enter into a sacred act of worship-one of love and great rejoicing!

So, let us come to enter in…

 

communion art 2

I AM the BREAD of LIFE.

John 6:35

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

