First Sunday

Standard

Hi! 

Some of you have been asking how my first Sunday of preaching went…

God gets all the glory because I could not have done any of it without the help of the Holy Spirit! 

All I can say is this:

“There’s a sweet, sweet Spirit in this place…”

 

101_3465

 

God sent us ( the congregation and myself)  many encouragers and prayer warriors…thank you ALL! 

….and a lot of laughter!  

A few months ago someone told me to “expect the unexpected”  and that God wanted to fill

me with joy-well He certainly has and yesterday was just the beginning! 

A complete stranger visited the church-and he was actually a Pastor from the NC conference!  Now, why do you suppose he was there this particular Sunday? Smile   God sent us an angel that’s why!  After the service, he told me that there was a sweet spirit in this place and that we were a great fit and we would be a blessing to each other!   Isn’t that just like God? 

I stand in awe of what God is doing here….

101_3456

I was reminded of my sweet Granny Marie when I saw this porcelain change bucket!  Why, I laughed out loud and the sound that the coins made was heavenly!  So, from here on out, I will be reminded of my Granny every Sunday!  Granny would be happy to know that this porcelain pot catches change to help children in the community!   What a blessing!

101_3458

 

I thank Tony Carrico for the use of his slingshot!  It was a helpful visual!

101_3459

This is outside of the church- a beautiful spot to sit and pray.

101_3464

Thank you Lord, for leading me here and for giving me Your people to love, a place to share Your Word and rest in Your presence…you are my all in all…amen.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. What a beautiful church. I am so glad you had such a wonderful first Sunday. Thanks for sharing the good news and so glad you had a few angels in the church watching over you. I love the porcelain pot to catch the money..Keep up the good work and God will bless you and your congregation. God is doing some great things this week…as usual…

  2. I love it! I feel like this is a church that I will enjoy visiting immensely. It is a sweet place and I feel the Holy Spirit abides there and in all the people who attend. This is a great fit for you Donna and you and your congregation are blessed to have each other. I CANNOT wait to visit !!

  3. We’re so happy for you and proud of you for taking this step of faith in your service to GOD. He will always be with you and so will our prayers. We were with you in spirit Sunday and will continue to be.

Leave a Reply

