Here we go!

Standard

This Sunday, June 24th, is my first Sunday at Glenwood.  I have fallen in love with a “child” I didn’t even know I had…the people of this beautiful country church.   I was recently moved when I watched a friend scoop up his child and embrace the him in his arms.  God allowed me to see an expression of love through this moment that I’ll never forget.  The child was tired and hungry and a little grumpy, and when Dad picked him up I saw a change come over his expression.  He snuggled in close and Dad held him a little tighter.  Both comfortable where they were at.  All was well.  What I saw in my mind’s eye was a Pastor who was embracing his congregation ( the child) with all the love he had to give.  Comforting, soothing and gentle.  An unconditional love that surpasses all words.  It was a powerful moment for me and one that I have selfishly been holding onto.  This is how I feel about my congregation.  While I have not met all of them , I have grown to love them through my prayers.  They are like the baby that a mother carries in her womb for 9 months.  She loves that child even though she has not seen it’s face yet.  This is how I love my people at Glenwood and I am looking forward to meeting the newest additions to my family this Sunday! 

101_2274

Love. God is like that.  When we open our hearts to whatever HIS plans are- He always surprises us with an outpouring of love.  This morning I stand in awe of all that God has done, is doing and will do in this world.  May heaven reign on earth as we follow our Father in obedience. We each have a plan, a path and a purpose that has been designed by Him, especially for us.  When we make that discovery-of WHO GOD is and what He wants us to do- well…all I can say is be ready for springs of joy to bubble up and overflow from a place inside of you that you didn’t even know was there…that’s the JOY place of God. 

101_2266

 

This Sunday evening, Pam Sutherland and I will be commissioned to “go out into the world” by our Pastors and our church family.  I would like to invite you to join us in this special time.  Corynn and Joye will be singing, along with the adult praise band.  All I can say is that you know when it’s right and this is right.  I have a peace inside of me that is unexplainable.  A month ago I was told that the Lord wanted to fill me with joy…

                                                                                                              ….and He has.

If you can’t make it-please send up some prayers for Pam and I.  Pam has been sent to Hillsville for such a time as this and for me leaving Hillsville is bittersweet, but oh so right.  Thank you my family…thank you for your love, your strength, your guidance, your prayers, leadership and most of all for who you are IN CHRIST.  Always remember WHOSE you are!

Hope to see you Sunday night at 6:30 pm , June 24th at FUMC Hillsville!   Here by the grace of God, go I.  Smile 

d.

Corynn and Joye will be singing this….

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

