Beams of Heaven

Standard
I entered the sanctuary.  I sat down in the back row.  I listened to the silence.  My heart skipped a beat as I saw the light shining through the windows near the front of the sanctuary.  The light was beckoning me to move closer.  So I did.  All the way to the front.  I sat there, in the beam of light, and listened to what most would hear as silence. 
 
I opened a hymnal.
 
The page fell to this hymn…
 
 

BEAMS OF HEAVEN AS I GO

Beams of heaven as I go,

through the wilderness below,

guide my feet in peaceful ways,

turn my midnights into days.

When in the darkness I would grope,

faith always sees a star of hope,

and soon from all life’s grief and danger

I shall be free someday.

 

I do not know how long ’twill be,

nor what the future holds for me,

but this I know: if Jesus leads me,

I shall get home someday.

Oftentimes my sky is clear,

joy abounds without a tear;

though a day so bright begun,

clouds may hide tomorrow’s sun.

There’ll be a day that’s always bright,

a day that never yields to night,

and in its light the streets of glory

I shall behold someday.

 

Harder yet may be the fight;

right may often yield to might;

wickedness a while may reign;

Satan’s cause may seem to gain.

There is a God that rules above,

with hand of power and heart of love;

if I am right, he’ll fight my battle,

I shall have peace someday.

 

Burdens now may crush me down,

disappointments all around;

troubles speak in mournful sigh,

sorrow through a tear-stained eye.

There is a world where pleasure reigns,

no mourning soul shall roam its plains,

and to that land of peace and glory

I shall want to go someday.

( I had never heard this song until today…you gotta love Aretha!  )

so, I read and wept – a bible on one knee and a hymnal on the other. Pages flipping, turning, words jumping off the pages and tears falling. Scripture after scripture God was speaking to me in His unique way. I had to get quiet to hear Him. This was the place.

My tears are not of sadness, nor are they a weakness. They are necessary. They are evidence of a heart that is in tune with God. They show love, passion, repentance, humility and compassion. God wants to wipe our tears away…and sometimes we have to get in our quiet spot in order for Him to do just that!

So please  be encouraged and always know that GOD ALMIGHTY is there and He wants to catch your tears and hear your words-no matter what they are.  Take some time, alone, and talk to God today. 

 

Today I am thankful for a God who listens,

who wipes away tears and who renews our JOY!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

