Hearing, Listening AND DOING!

Standard

We hear God…

    but we don’t do what He says.

          We are content to listen, but not to DO.  Hmmm.

This is a problem in the church universal today.  We give God our ears on Sunday mornings and that’s all.  The other 6 days of the week are given to the world. 

WHAT iF…  we trusted God and asked Him to help us change our hearing INTO our doing…

It’s a process that can be done with God.

  Evan quoted this scripture on FB this morning: 

Mark 10:27 Jesus was blunt: “No chance at all if you think you can pull it off by yourself. Every chance in the world if you let God do it.”

 

Here is the full story…

Mark 10:17-34

To Enter God’s Kingdom

17 As he went out into the street, a man came running up, greeted him with great reverence, and asked, “Good Teacher, what must I do to get eternal life?”

18-19 Jesus said, “Why are you calling me good? No one is good, only God. You know the commandments: Don’t murder, don’t commit adultery, don’t steal, don’t lie, don’t cheat, honor your father and mother.”

20 He said, “Teacher, I have—from my youth—kept them all!”

21 Jesus looked him hard in the eye—and loved him! He said, “There’s one thing left: Go sell whatever you own and give it to the poor. All your wealth will then be heavenly wealth. And come follow me.”

22 The man’s face clouded over. This was the last thing he expected to hear, and he walked off with a heavy heart. He was holding on tight to a lot of things, and not about to let go.

( my comment- we ask for truth, we get truth, we don’t expect truth.  It’s up to us deal with the truth and then rely on God to help us put it into action.) 

23-25 Looking at his disciples, Jesus said, “Do you have any idea how difficult it is for people who ‘have it all’ to enter God’s kingdom?” The disciples couldn’t believe what they were hearing, but Jesus kept on: “You can’t imagine how difficult. I’d say it’s easier for a camel to go through a needle’s eye than for the rich to get into God’s kingdom.”

26 That set the disciples back on their heels. “Then who has any chance at all?” they asked.

27 Jesus was blunt: “No chance at all if you think you can pull it off by yourself. Every chance in the world if you let God do it.”

28 Peter tried another angle: “We left everything and followed you.”

29-31 Jesus said, “Mark my words, no one who sacrifices house, brothers, sisters, mother, father, children, land—whatever—because of me and the Message will lose out. They’ll get it all back, but multiplied many times in homes, brothers, sisters, mothers, children, and land—but also in troubles. And then the bonus of eternal life! This is once again the Great Reversal: Many who are first will end up last, and the last first.”

( my comment- Jesus said MARK MY WORDS…are we heeding his advice?)

32-34 Back on the road, they set out for Jerusalem. Jesus had a head start on them, and they were following, puzzled and not just a little afraid. He took the Twelve and began again to go over what to expect next. “Listen to me carefully. We’re on our way up to Jerusalem. When we get there, the Son of Man will be betrayed to the religious leaders and scholars. They will sentence him to death. Then they will hand him over to the Romans, who will mock and spit on him, give him the third degree, and kill him. After three days he will rise alive.”

( my comment- they were puzzled.  Jesus told them to “ listen carefully…are we listening?” )

It is amazing to me at how God gives a group of people the same message at the same time.  Pastor Ronnie posted about his run at the beach a few days ago and it had to do with what he was seeing-material wealth in the form of homes, cars and excessive possessions.  These things are nice and it’s okay to have them- but not if they own us.   I want my obsession to be GOD-not stuff.  So,  what if…what if we took the time we worked to get these “things” and used that time to work for the Kingdom of God?  Not just the time, but the money too.   The world could be a better place. 

My mind has been on obedience.  Obedience cannot be done on our own.  We must rely on the Holy Spirit to equip us and we must be willing to let go of our baggage and accept the help.  It’s a two way street.  God is not pushy-He’s just right.  The sooner we get that tidbit, the better off we will be!   So, Evan’s post was “spot on” for me this morning.  I can’t do it without God’s help.  No one can.  Look at the scripture-even the disciples couldn’t believe what they were hearing and they were physically WITH Jesus.  We must rely on the power of God to get the work done.  Quit looking at self and start looking to God!

Now do this…look at your hands.  Are they open or closed?  Do you realize that what you hold in your hands is a blessing, or, is keeping you from receiving the blessings of God?  What are your hands holding?  Is it pride in possessions?  Is it money, wealth and fame?  Is it an addiction?  Mine is food.  I have to start seeing my hands with new eyes.  What I am clutching to is keeping God from filling my hands with goodness.  When we take communion we hold our hands out to receive the bread.  We must do this same thing on a daily basis.  Get up, lift our hands up to the Lord and say, “here they are Lord-these hands are yours-now fill them up with your loving kindness!”  Then we must rely on God to help us do whatever he puts in our hands.  That might be something as simple as a prayer for someone or as hard as taking a mission trip to a third world country. 

Now here’s the kicker.  Are you ready?  God has been showing me this over and over again.  Someone else’s eternity depends on my obedience to God.  I know- it’s heavy to hear-so clean out your ears.  When God asks me to do something-He has purposed me with a specific task that only I can do.  He has a reason for using me for this particular job.  It’s not about me-but about God in me.  There is something inside each one of us that can reach a lost soul for Christ.  I know it is hard to comprehend.   For instance- God can use my husband to teach someone how to biblically handle their money.  That knowledge can help change lives for God.  He has equipped my husband to do this job.  I can’t do it.  I’m not equipped the same way.  It’s like going to the car dealer and buying a sports car VS an SUV.  Each does the same job, but has different qualities/specs. to meet a different driving type.  They all have wheels, a motor, and a steering wheel that will get us to our destination-BUT they have unique qualities in and of themselves.  Will we need a high torque engine to do heavy work or do we need a family car to haul the kids around?  This is how we are.  Pastor Ronnie runs-he can speak to runners in their language-Evan is young and excited and he reaches people that are his age.  I am a mom  who loves kids and art and I can reach these groups.  Together-we build up the body of Christ.  Can you imagine if Billy Graham did not do what God was asking him to do?  Think about it.  Billy Graham is a warrior for Christ and God has used his obedience in a mighty way.  

  We hold eternity in our hands. 

Look at your hands again-can you see the radiance and glory of God in heaven there? 

What we choose to do with it is up to us. 

Do the thing that God is asking you to do.  He will equip you for it.  I dare you

( and when we do—the world will know Christ…the ultimate wealth!)

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

