Prayers, praises and steeples!

Standard

So, we opened the map and said, “let’s go somewhere…”

101_2937

 

Our very first date was on a motorcycle!

101_2938

 

27 years ago I hopped on the back of HIS 350 Honda and away we went….

 

 

101_2939

 

27 years later we are married and I’m on my own  bike and he’s still grinning!

 

101_2942

Our machines.  Thor and Lucy. LOL

 

101_2944

Apparently I am a little scary when I am in biker attire…it’s interesting how often we get judged when we ride-but hey it goes with the territory!  One day, when I get old ( ahem) I will be “the little old preacher lady who rides a Harley-except it will be a Yamaha!”  LOL  You’ve heard of heard the “Sermon on the Mount”- well here it is-the sermon from the lady perched on the bike!  Haha!   

All joking aside- God is good and all glory to Him!   We were blessed with safety today.  Thank you Lord!  Seriously- if you are reading this and you ride a motorcycle-please get right with God before you go anywhere on it.  I could not ride if I was not sure I was going to heaven when I died.  When we get on our bikes we check our brakes, our lights, our turn signals and horn-but do we ever think to check our hearts?  I hope you do and I am praying that yours is right with God.   Don’t forget to say a prayer before you head out and while you are riding down the road.  I talk to God a lot while I ride.  In fact, today we were around Elkin and I saw two signs that said, “Praying for Chance and Baby Will.”  I saw the first one and a few miles later saw a second one.  I began to pray, out loud, while riding.  The HS was strong as I began to pray for this mother and her baby-at least I assumed it was a mom and her son.  My eyes even teared up and let’s just say that’s not a good thing on a bike.  I held them back and kept praying.  I am telling you this so that you, too, will be in prayer for Baby Will and his mom, Chance.  I don’t know the needs-but God does and let’s just agree to pray together for them and for the community.  My sense was that the community needed prayers too. 

The marvelous Light breaks through the darkness and when we pray we are doing what God designed us to do-to be in conversation with Him for others sake.  Intercessors. 

 

101_2947

 

As we rode into N.Wilksboro I spotted this steeple and it was at the Methodist Church.  So we stopped and went in and had a look around. 

101_2948

The steeple at FUMC-North Wilksboro, NC

101_2963

 

Pretty ornate for a Methodist church!  Everyone knows how much I love steeples and this one really caught my eye as we rode into town.  Most steeples are generally the same and I think they probably come from the same manufacturer-at least they look like they do.  But not this one! 

101_2962

 

Cort and I both liked the architectural details-such as the “acorns” at the corners. 

101_2965

Massive columns

101_2953

 

101_2955

101_2954

101_2968

101_2970

101_2969

The Chapel-where it all began…

101_2972

 

The Dining room/Gymnasium/Stage

101_2973

The Presbyterian Steeple across the street

101_2960

Reminds me of a trip I took to Slovakia a few years ago…where does the time go? 

Happy Riding and thanks for lifting up Chance and Baby Will! 

Blessings for your journey!

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

4 responses »

  1. Love this ! Acorns, so beautiful !! You are so like me, I still admire churches when we travel and pull over when I can to get pictures. Love the churches.

  2. Beautiful pictures and thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and compassion once again with us Donna. How wonderful it is to see Gods Awesome Love shining through you!!

Leave a Reply

