Jesus goes to Heaven- Day of Ascension 2012

Standard

 

Luke 24 : 44-53
 
You’re the Witnesses

44Then he said, “Everything I told you while I was with you comes to this: All the things written about me in the Law of Moses, in the Prophets, and in the Psalms have to be fulfilled.”45-49He went on to open their understanding of the Word of God, showing them how to read their Bibles this way. He said, “You can see now how it is written that the Messiah suffers, rises from the dead on the third day, and then a total life-change through the forgiveness of sins is proclaimed in his name to all nations—starting from here, from Jerusalem! You’re the first to hear and see it. You’re the witnesses. What comes next is very important: I am sending what my Father promised to you, so stay here in the city until he arrives, until you’re equipped with power from on high.”

 

50-51He then led them out of the city over to Bethany. Raising his

hands he blessed them, and while blessing them, took his

leave, being carried up to heaven.

 

52-53And they were on their knees, worshiping him.

They returned to Jerusalem bursting with joy.

They spent all their time in the Temple praising

God. Yes.

 

 

ascension-day-usa

 

 

Today is Ascension Day. It is the 40th day after Easter-the day that Jesus ascended into heaven right in front of the eyes of the disciples!  Can you imagine?  I mean, really imagine it?  Jesus is standing there talking with you, praying, and the next thing you know he is being carried up to heaven- alive and well!  Woo!  It gives me chills!

 

Can you imagine the amount of energy and excitement that must have created in the men that were standing there witnessing this?  It’s no wonder they were bursting with joy and praising God!  He’s alive and well and waiting…

…for you…and for me…

Now THAT’S something to shout about!

But wait…

BEFORE leaving He left them with a promise…a promise of help to do the job that they were called to do…help in the form of “power from on high.”  In Acts 2 we see this power coming as a “sound of the mighty rushing wind.”    The day of Pentecost.  This power is the Holy Spirit!  The Spirit lives deep inside of us and we are never alone.  God equips us with what we need, and when, through the power of the Holy Spirit. 

Now get your bible out and read what happens next in Acts 2 & 3!

Take notes. Study it.  If you need help-send me a message at cdgodwin1@embarqmail.com

I’ll be glad to help! 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

