The 9:01 Experience

Standard

 

101_2806

This past weekend I heard “Running Ever After’” play at State Street UMC in Bristol, VA..  They played for their youth rally and the contemporary worship service called “The 9:01 Experience.”    I love that name because it is different. Most times are 9 am or 11 am, but this one is 9:01 with the added EXPERIENCE and now I know why! 

101_2767

 

208367_143338595735183_128209330581443_263904_314970_n

State Street UMC is filled with very gracious and friendly people.  Right away, as a stranger,  I EXPERIENCED the gifts of hospitality, generosity, kindness, mercy and grace in action.  I was made to feel right at home!   My time there was a real blessing because these folks are putting their God-given gifts to use!  Thank you State Street UMC, you blessed my soul!   You are pointed at True North! 

101_2732

 

  I was told that this church started out in this little chapel, years ago, and that has left me greatly encouraged. Today the chapel can fit inside of the rest of this church several times!  Here are some stained glass windows from the little chapel.

101_2735

I love this prayer chapel window because this woman is clinging to the cross as she kneels on the rocky cliffs near the ocean.  It speaks of our Savior.  Mine, yours and the people at State Street UMC.  The preacher spoke about how we are the Body of Christ…you, me, your neighbor, these folks and all other Believers across this great earth.

 

101_2742

I love seeing Jesus as Our Shepherd. He carries the young, the broken and the bruised. He watches over the rest of the flock WHILE caring for the hurting and the healing. He guides and leads us down paths of righteousness.

101_2741

My young friend, Elizabeth shared with me that she is fond of this window because the children were gathered around Jesus.  ( right we belong!)

101_2839

Look at those smiles!  A joyful worship service!  Woot! Woot! 

 

101_2751

 

Running Ever After plays their music for the glory of the Lord and it shows. They are part of the Body of Christ putting their God-given gifts to work. They focus on the One True God- Jesus Christ. They put the cross before them in all that they do and it shows.

101_2828

Corynn

101_2825

Joye

101_2795

Brandon and Caleb

101_2802

Zach

Zach is usually behind the drums and it’s hard to get his photo-but this time he was feeling led to give a testimony and he was at the microphone!  Awesome job of listening to the Holy Spirit Zach!  You are a natural speaker! 

101_2783

Jerry-our adopted roadie

The music these young people play draws people closer to God.  God speaks through their instruments.  It is an energizing experience to worship with them.  Why?  Because they are plugged in to the source of their power !!   Are you? I hope so!

101_2790

Evan was the speaker at the youth rally and he preached to us about being REAL! 

Thanks Evan- God was using you as affirmation to what I ,too, have been hearing.  To be an AUTHENTIC follower of Christ.  Being a leader for God requires authenticity and a passion for Christ.  This is what I love about these young people- there’s nothing fake here. 

What you see is exactly what you get.  

101_2810

101_2809

101_2769

101_2814

101_2785

101_2749

101_2826

101_2766

101_2815

101_2820

Our future leaders…they are soaking it all up and I thank God every single day for the testimony that our young adults are giving to these younger kids.  ( Jerry is sitting in between the young ones-what does that tell you?)  They look up to you…because you don’t look down on them!  

1 Timothy 4:12  Don’t let anyone look down on you for being young. Instead, make your speech, behavior, love, faith, and purity an example for other believers.

You do this well!

So, thanks for being real and keeping it True. 

101_2708

101_2711

I can’t wait to see where God is going to take you next!    Thanks for all you do and for who you ARE!  State St. UMC- thank YOU! 

Blessings,

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

