Looking Forward

Standard

Yesterday Cort asked me if I saw any grass peeking through all of the straw that is covering our front yard.  I said, “ no silly, it hasn’t had enough time to germinate and take root.”

Patience.

Last night at our council meeting time of celebrations I was reminded of Cort’s words.  “ Do you see any grass poking up yet?”   My answer in regards to our meeting was “YES.”

Today I was reminded that our plans are not God’s and that His ways are higher than ours.  

Isaiah 55:8 “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.
“And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.

16 months ago our church commissioned a group of people to serve as missionaries to downtown Hillsville.  Our church has been busy planting seeds all this time.   There has been much labor involved in the planting of these seeds.  Each seed is a life.  Our church has some awesome seed sowers and what is coming up today is a result of their work, their feeding,  and their faith in God to water the ground.  Last night I saw the grass peeking through the straw.

Luke 8:15  And the seeds that fell on the good soil represent honest, good-hearted people who hear God’s word, cling to it, and patiently produce a huge harvest.

KEYWORD: PATIENCE!!

I know that when the grass starts coming up in my yard, we will be happy, no more dirt and mud!  It’s the same way when we see the efforts of our hard work coming to fruition in other people ( seeds).  They are clearing away their own mud and dirt so that the seed can take root and grow healthy and strong.  These things take time.

God’s time, not ours.

This past weekend one of these seeds ( a person) came to life and worked to bring other people together to do the Lord’s work in the community.  Seeds were sown, friendships were formed and people were fed spiritually, physically and mentally.  Prayer, hope and encouragement were on the menu.  Some needs were shared.  ( Little did we know God had those needs already taken care of through our church.) 

We celebrated these joys during our council meeting.  This morning I realized that all the work that has been done in years past is now producing a major fruit crop.  I’m not talking about just the past 16 months, but the past 16 years too.  The group of people who were sent out had previously been tended and cared for by all the shepherds of the church.  There has been much fruit in many forms, and communities near and far, are being changed because of your hard work, diligence, prayers and patience.   I thank God for each of you.

Ephesians 3:14-19

14 When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father,[e] 15 the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth.[f] 16 I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. 17 Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. 18 And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is.19 May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

You know, today I have been thinking about how much time we have, right now, to spend with our oldest daughter before she goes off to college-not long.  I want to do everything I can to spend as much time with her as possible.  Time is going by so fast!  I feel the same way about the church.  I will be leaving in 2 months to plant seeds elsewhere and I want to spend as much time as I possibly can with my church family- who has fed and watered me for 6 years!  Oh, I know I’m not going far-but it will be a change.  My role will change, just as my daughter’s will.  Change is never easy-it stretches us and makes us grow in ways that we never would have imagined.  Change is good and I am doing all that I can to embrace the plans that God has for this family.  We have come so far in such a short period of time and it is all because of the faithfulness of our church.  You have been faithful to speak the Truth into us and to do it in love.  You have fed and watered us and today we are peeking through the grass seeking the Son so that we might grow every higher towards Him.  That’s what growth does.  It makes you hungry for more.  Our church has been serving a lot of hungry people -so you better get ready and make room for more! 

Luke 10:2“The harvest is great, but the workers are few. So pray to the Lord who is in charge of the harvest; ask him to send more workers into his fields.

Today I am praying for all of us to prepare for a feast in the Kingdom of God!   “Let us go  quickly into the streets and alleys of the town and invite the poor, the crippled, the blind, and the lame.  Let us fill the banquet hall!  Let us go out into the country lanes and behind the hedges and urge anyone we find to come, so that the house will be full.”  ( Luke 14:15-24)   Let us not make excuses and let us look forward with joyful anticipation!

Amen

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you again for such a wonderful inspiring message, Donna. You are so gifted in so many ways. Thanks be to God!!

Leave a Reply

