Our body is a temple

Standard

We all have our struggles with addictions and mine is with food.  A group of us are doing a bible study that is based around craving God and not food.  Last night during the “Made to Crave” bible study we were discussing our bodies being temples-the place where God dwells.  Our discussion revolved around food and if what we were putting into our “temples” was beneficial or not. 

This morning I had an eye opener in the scriptures.  Let’s look at…

Matthew 21: 12-13 (NIV)

Jesus went straight to the Temple and threw out everyone who had set up shop, buying and selling. He kicked over the tables of loan sharks and the stalls of dove merchants. He quoted this text: My house was designated a house of prayer;
You have made it a hangout for thieves.

When Jesus found out that people were buying and selling their wares in the Temple of God- he got angry!   This was a special place, a place of reverence and honor.  A place where people gathered to learn about his Father in Heaven.  Wouldn’t that make you mad too?  It should.  What did he do?   He made a whip and he drove them out of the temple!  The temple is a holy place-not one where we do business, make loans or sell things.  It is a place of HONOR.  It is a house of prayer, a Holy place.  Our bodies are the same exact way folks.  We don’t sell, loan out or make our bodies available to thieves.  Do we?  We shouldn’t.  The Holy Spirit lives inside of us and we are called to HONOR God with our bodies. 

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 (NIV)

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

What does the word HONOR mean?  

RESPECT

REVERE

INTEGRITY

Think about those words.  Who do you respect and revere and WHY? 

How about INTEGRITY?

Having morals, ethics and honesty.

Do you know anyone like this?

I do. 

It’s Jesus Christ, the One who was born of a virgin, the One who came to live among us, the One who served others with His lifeblood, the One who was crucified, kicked, mocked and whipped.  The ONE who ROSE in VICTORY, the ONE who IS coming back! 

Sisters, we need to get mad.  We need to get our whips out and send the devil and his temptations packing all the way back to hell.  Our bodies are the temple of the LIVING God-not the temple for chips and dip, pizza, popcorn and chocolate covered bunnies filled with ice cream.  Until I get real with myself, my temple will always be in disarray.  Is this what we want?  Or do we want a magnificent, radiant temple that is filled with the foods of the earth-unprocessed, un refined and with no additives?  I am afraid that until I get seriously angry things will never change.  Satan is feeding us lies and we are selling our souls to him. 

There is a song called “Give us clean hearts”

Here are the words…

We bow our hearts  ( our bodies should be a house of prayer)
We bend our knees ( we are in constant prayer in our temple)
Oh Spirit come make us humble  ( !!)
We turn our eyes   ( stop looking at food)
From evil things ( start looking at God)
Oh Lord we cast down our idols  ( we tell the food to GET OUT)
So give us clean hands ( we wash ourselves with His WORD)
and give us pure hearts ( we meditate on our daily bread and the will of God)  
Let us not lift our souls to another  ( we lift our souls to GOD and not the devil’s schemes)
Oh give us clean hands  ( we ask God for beneficial food to be prepared by our hands)
and give us pure hearts ( hearts that seek God first-the Lord is our portion-not food)
Let us not lift our souls to another
Oh God let this be
a generation that seeks
Who seeks Your face, Oh God of Jacob
Oh God let us be
a generation that seeks
Who seeks Your face, Oh God of Jacob

Let us seek the Face of God and not the bag of chips or container of dip, not the movie popcorn, pizza or ice cream filled chocolate Easter bunnies.  Let us seek the RADIANT, MAGNIFICENT FACE OF GOD ALMIGHTY in all that we do, all that we prepare and all that goes into our bodies.  Let us be ROMANS 12 people!  A HOLY and LIVING sacrifice to the God who SAVES!  THIS, my sisters, is HOW we WORSHIP!

Romans 12: 1-2  (NLT)

And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him.  Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.

So, are you mad yet?

Will you get your whip out and send those temptations out the door of your heart?  Will you kick over that table of lust and idols that we call food?  Will you place a sentry over your heart so that thieves cannot get inside?   Will you change your way of thinking? What will you do, sisters?

Will you do what Jesus did?

I want to but I can’t do it alone.

We can do this-together!

In Phil 4:13 Paul says: “ I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. 13 For I can do everything through Christ,[c] who gives me strength. “

Let’s look to the Author and Perfecter of our faith for strength and not food.

We’ve got this ladies.

I love you ALL so much!

I thank God for each and everyone of you.  Our time together has spoken volumes into my soul and I thank you for sharing and being so willing and open.  God always knows what we need and He knew I needed all of you!    Thank you Lord. 

Smile

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. I am humbled….that God would speak so powerfully to us that it totally changes everything. Now we can dress poperly in our robes of righteousness. Thank you so much my sister for sharing this wake-up call. It is a answer to my prayers and I am sure a lot of others!!! God bless you…

Leave a Reply

