The WORD became flesh…

Standard

img132

 

John 1:1

“ In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God,

and the Word was God.”

I have always loved this verse.  It carries so much meaning and this week it seemed to jump off the page during my study time.  It has been rolling around in my mind ( and in my life) for awhile now.  What does it really mean? 

Matthew Henry says that Christ is the wonderful speaker-the speaker of things hidden and strange!  This is one strange thing-the Word, the Word with God and the Word was God!  How can that be?  It is a mystery to us all and I cannot explain it, however, I do believe it with all of my being.  The Word ( Christ) has made God’s mind known to us much the same way our own speech makes our mind known.  Christ IS the Word speaking from God to us and to God FOR us!  Isn’t that exciting?  Just as John the Baptist was the VOICE-Christ is the WORD.

Proverbs 8:23

“The WORD had a being BEFORE the world had a beginning.”

 

Just as I am a daughter, mother and wife-it is the same way with God.  Christ was with God-together-not apart.  Christ is with God and is God. 

Jesus Christ is the good Word-the very letters that form in our minds and flow from our mouths.  He puts the letters together to form words and they tumble from our tongues in God phrases of Truth and Light.  They speak into our souls and pierce the deepest parts of our bone marrow.  God is living and active inside of us and WE are his living, breathing, serving, healing testaments of redeeming love.  Notice I said redeeming love- God draws us toward Him with a grace that cannot be found anywhere else but through Him.  God redeems his creation to himself. He beckons us back into His arms with love, forgiveness and discipline.  He is always calling, are we listening?  I am proof that God is alive and that He never gives up on his children.   He will never give up on you-no matter what you might think or what others might say. Don’t believe it. It’s a lie.  God loves you and wants you all for himself.  He is IN us. When he created man, God breathed himself into us and into all of creation!  His Word lives in us-it is imprinted into our DNA not by numbers or symbols, but by his breath of letters and words and life that say  “ created in His image” and “fearfully and wonderfully made!
  

Matthew 1:27

So God created mankind in his own image,
   in the image of God he created them;
   male and female he created them.

I imagine that as the Spirit of God hovered over the void that would become earth,  the colors mingled and reacted and the mixing of creation began!  Jesus Christ came forth from His Father as the breath of words -spilling out onto the black, dark, canvas of creation. He is the beautiful hue of life that makes the world vibrant, alive and so full of Life! 

Look around you, look at your skin tone, your eyes, your hair, your bone structure, your heart.   God did that.  You are fearfully and wonderfully made by a Creator who is calling you home…

Psalm 139: 13-14

For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

Let us give thanks for His never ending love!

  Forever and ever Amen!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

Leave a Reply

