We are called to choose a different road.

Standard

I have been reading about the prophetess, Anna, and the path she took to share Jesus with the world. We see Anna in the scriptures, after the event of the birth of Christ, and during the presentation of Jesus in the temple. 

Luke 2:36-38 There was also a prophet, Anna, the daughter of Penuel, of the tribe of Asher. She was very old; she had lived with her husband seven years after her marriage, 37 and then was a widow until she was eighty-four.[e] She never left the temple but worshiped night and day, fasting and praying. 38Coming up to them at that very moment, she gave thanks to God and spoke about the child to all who were looking forward to the redemption of Jerusalem.

She was 84!  We often hear the old adage- “ I’m too old for God to use me…” never!  Look at Anna!  She spent her days and nights worshipping God and fasting and praying!  She was a widow who never left the temple!   Can you imagine what some people must have been saying about her?  “ There’s that crazy old woman, praying to God again-she never stops.”   or  “ There’s that woman who spends her time praying and fasting to God-what commitment and faith she has-how can I have that? ”  But do any of these things really matter?  No.  All that matters is what God thinks.  This is where the rubber meets the road. 

As Christians we are called to choose a different road. Some of us are standing in the cross hairs trying to figure out which way to go. “ If I turn this way, then the world will love me, but if I turn this way then God will love me and pour out his blessings on me. “   Our insecurities can have control over our decisions.  Ask me, I know all about it.   We should not be concerned with what the world says, but we are.  We should not be ruled by our insecurities, but we are.  We should know and believe that God WILL equip us and that we DO have value in the Kingdom of God and we should TRUST in God’s plan and purpose for us-whether we understand it or not.  God does, and that’s all that matters.  We can let our insecurities run us right into the world or we can choose to fall into the arms of our beloved Savior and let Him take care of the details; just a Anna did.  She spent her days abiding in the Lord and he cared for her every need.  He blessed her obedience. 

Hebrews 12:1-3

1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

I am thinking of my Made to Crave group this morning.  Ladies-we need to choose a different road.  We need to choose the road that leads to health and life-not to insulin, blood pressure pills or heart attacks.  This is the world having it’s way over what we put in our mouths and into our bodies.  Temptation to eat poorly is at every corner, however, when we fill our minds with the Words of God and we follow His disciplines-fasting, praying and worshipping-that is what will fill us and keep us focused.  We need each other to do this-to be a gentle reminder to each other to keep going, to give an “atta girl” and to pray for each other.  When we do this, God will bless our obedience. 

Here is what I learned from Anna this morning:

-Don’t be concerned with what the world says-do it God’s way.

-Don’t let your insecurities rule you.

-Believe that God will equip you.

– Know that you are valued in God’s Kingdom.

-Believe that God has a plan and purpose for your life-no matter your age, weight, or profession.

Put your blinders on and look dead ahead at Christ.  He is saying, “ come closer my child, walk this way and we will live together, forever.” 

The choices we make today affect our lives and the lives of others.  How we share our faith and live for God also has an impact on the eternal outcome of those around us.  Think about that.  Our choices can affect the eternity of another person.  If I meet someone who has never heard about Jesus and I choose to keep that to myself-that person may never get a chance to hear his name again.  They may die a tragic and sudden death.  We see that a lot, don’t we?  Have you ever thought about it?  I mean, really?  It has been on my mind, almost daily, since the tragedy out here on route 100 with the tree falling in the road and taking the life of a man who was just driving along.  A man with a wife and a family.  My heart aches for them.   I have asked a lot of questions and no answers.  I don’t want to think about it, but it seems to crop up in my mind a lot.  Life can be tragic.  We must take every opportunity we are given to share God with people. 

Every choice we make in life DOES matter.  Someone is always watching and when they watch long enough they will say, “ I want what you have-how do I get that?”   ( I recently said that to a friend who is always filled with laughter and joy.)  Ladies, I truly believe that God is calling each of us to take the High Road.  We all come together one night a week and then we go out in 8 different directions-all over CC.  Think about that road map and all of the people we interact with along the way.  Hebron, Sylvatus, Galax, Dugspur, Hillsville.  That’s a lot of coverage!  8 women CAN make a huge impact on this part of God’s world.  The hub is our church.  Each of us is a spoke in the wheel and when we are all connected-we can go anywhere that God sends us!  He is a our fuel, not food.

I love you ladies and I am praying for each of you today.  Make wise choices and think about God before every bite.  I encourage you take time to fast and pray and hear what God is saying to YOU.  He speaks to each of us in different ways and the plans he has for me, are not the same as for you.  The end goal is the same, the vehicle He uses to get each of us there is different.

Blessings for your weekend!

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

