Confirmation Weekend #5

Standard

This last project was by far my favorite!  We made a stole.   What is a stole?  It is a long piece of cloth, like a scarf, made of fabric, that Pastors wear around their necks.  They are long and sometimes they are seasonal, colorful and they are filled with meaning.  Pastor John Grimm shared with us that when a Pastor becomes ordained they receive a red stole-it signifies the power of the Holy Spirit over that person’s ministry.  I love that!   

Pastor John said a lot of things that touched me and I will be blogging about those later!

Here are the pictures of the kids making their stoles…

 

The first thing we had to do was draw and color a cross in the middle of the stole-this sits at our neck in the back.  As a Christian, we “carry” the cross of Christ into the world. 

101_2210

The next thing we were told to do was to write our name with several adjectives about ourselves under it.  This side was about us and what was important to us, like family and then some things we did as a family together.  ( of course mine has a motorcycle on it! haah!) 

101_2209

Here is my dear friend, Carolyn Snow, from the Fancy Gap church.  She is hard at work on her stole!   ( Shhh….don’t tell anybody but she’s an awesome cook too!!!!) 

101_2211

Pastor John is at the end of the table and Jeremiah is in the right front corner. 

101_2214

Here are Emily,Elizabeth, Chloe and Laura.

101_2215

 

On the left side of the stole we had to draw something that showed the Father, Son, the Holy Spirit.  3 names of Christ and our “Holy” place.    Then we wrote a name of someone who has been significant to us in our walk with Christ.  The last thing was a bible and our favorite scripture.  I loved doing this project because it really showed me what was important in my life and to have it all in one place and hanging around my neck was most inspiring. 

Here are the finished pieces…

101_2235

101_2236

101_2216

101_2234

101_2243

101_2244

101_2245

101_2240

101_2241101_2242101_2246101_2248101_2249101_2250

101_2238101_2237101_2239

The adults wore their stoles first while reading John Wesley’s Covenant Prayer from 1780.

101_2262

 

101_2261

Then the adults “stoled” the kids…

101_2263101_2264101_2265101_2266

and finally here we are as a group.

First United Methodist Church Hillsville.

101_2270

 

Fancy Gap UMC, FUMC Hillsville, Max Meadows Circuit.

 

101_2273

A wonderful time was had by each person and we couldn’t ask for  a better behaved bunch of kids!  Praise be to God from whom all blessings flow! 

Thank you church!

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Wow!!! what a wonderful job by everyone, the stoles are awesome, what a blessing and priceless moment. When you put your God given thoughts and talents down via writing, drawing etc. It’s amazing how much more likely we are to carry it around in our hearts!

Leave a Reply

