Confirmation Retreat # 2

Standard

This is a project we started with- “Mail Bags”.  We decorated paper bags with our names on them and then we were told to send each other notes of encouragement during the weekend.  We couldn’t read them until we got home and I have to say I got some very sweet notes!  Thank you! 

101_2137101_2138101_2140101_2141101_2269

Then our second project was to write out our “time line” of our lives.  We were to list significant things that happened in our lives, both good and bad. 

101_2268

Our third project was to create a “family” crest.  Ours is the second one-“Carroll County Christians”  our motto- “Jesus loves you!”

101_2267

 

This was a fun game that we played.  We each had a balloon and we were supposed to stand in a circle and keep as many balloons in the air as possible.  We couldn’t go out of the circle and when one landed on the ground it stayed there.  

This is what I took away from it:  We each have many things that we juggle everyday-jobs, family, school, band practice, sports, dance, church activities.  We can’t possibly do them all at the same time and we have to set priorities.  When we juggle them all, like these balloons- some are going to fall to the side and get neglected.  It is better to do a few things very well, then do 5 things mediocre. 

Another way to look at the balloons are that each balloon is a person inside of our church.  Who is getting missed?  Why?  What can we do to change that?  No one likes to feel left out!    I loved this game-it was very meaningful to me and gave me a new perspective.  Thank you Michael Snow!  

101_2145101_2146101_2147101_2148

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Donna, Bless you all! I’m thrilled for these kids!!!!
    Thanks for the ideas. I want to incorporate some of these into our little church! You and yours are a long distance blessing to me. One church, one faith, one Father.
    kim

Leave a Reply

