Signs of Life

Standard

 

101_2096

Hi!

Yesterday I worked in the yard a little bit.  I have a flower bed that is full of leaves!  Well, there were more leaves there than I had thought.  I was raking what seemed like layers of leaves.  The leaves on the top were dry and brittle and blew away easily. The leaves underneath were varying degrees of wetness, until finally on the bottom they were a little slimy. Eww.   Well, what I saw in this was a personalized view of my own deadness and slimy attitude, thinking, actions, etc.  I know, I know, it’s gross, but let’s get real, we all have these things going on whether we admit it or not.   The slimy stuff is the worst.  When I tried to rake up the really wet leaves they were hard to get up.  So I had to rake a little harder and even had to get down on my hands and knees and get in between the plants with my hands to get the slimy stuff out.  I was reminded of God in that moment and how He does the same thing to me.  ( and to you)  He keeps trying to get us to the right place where we are fertile and can be nurtured like a young plant.  But often times we don’t want to let go of our “stuff.”  He keeps working on us and he may even send somebody who will get down on their knees for us, a friend, a teacher, a pastor, a parent, a grandparent or even a stranger. 

101_2087

About a month ago I received a FB message from a FB friend-someone I have never met in person-but who I have gotten to know over FB messages and posts.  Well, she sent me this note saying she had been awakened in the night with a name on her lips.  A young person.  So, she prayed for them.  Now she doesn’t know them and she asked me who it was.  I told her and I was so amazed at how God had put this young person’s name in her mind and had her pray for them.  Someone that she did not know.  That, my friends, is intercessory prayer, obedience and FAITH! 

101_2084

It takes faith to grow a garden, get out of bed, go to work, and to make plans for a vacation.  If we didn’t have faith we wouldn’t believe in tomorrow, or that the sun would rise, or that a plant would come up in the spring.  Underneath some of that slimy leaf mess were beautiful, tender, green shoots of new life.  This is why I love spring.  It causes my faith to be renewed and to explode into millions of colors.  I see color everywhere-even where there is none.  To me that says HOPE.   Hope and FAITH go hand in hand and LOVE leads the way. 

101_2086

I am encouraged that underneath my mess is a beautiful plant just waiting to come to the surface.  It takes work, time, patience, and fertilization to get to the beauty.  God is always at work and everything comes about in His time.  I am to do the work while I wait for the fullness of God’s time to come, and when it does, there will be heavenly beauty coming to life. 

Thy will be done on earth…as it is in heaven…

amen.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. Donna, Thank you once again for this wonderful analogy of how our precious father works in our lives. I also have enjoyed working in the garden the last two days. Working in the garden getting down and dirty is one of many passions, I love spring! when I was in the dirt loosening the hard soil around the plant’s so that they could breath easier and soak up the rain water, I also was reminded how God works on us by breaking/softening all that hard crusty core that we have built up over time, I know that he is still working on me, but feel so very blessed that he is still chipping away and will never give up on me.
    In His Love!!
    Ann

  2. Wow, the power of God. From his lips to that woman’s heart !
    My tiger lilies are showing their tips, another miracle from God. Isn’t it just amazing the way the earth wakes up every spring?

  3. Oh how spring reminds us of how renewing Gods love is, even when we are slimy. He awakens our life anew every morning.

Leave a Reply

