Weekend reflections

Standard

Proverbs 22:6

Start children off on the way they should go,
and even when they are old they will not turn from it.

 

Evan and Corynn

corynn and evan

Hi! Saturday night I was at an event listening to our oldest daughter sing.  Our young friend, Evan, had just finished speaking on GRACE.  It was beautiful.  That young man is being filled with the Spirit of God.  If you haven’t heard him, I hope you can hear him one day soon. 

The song after the message was “Amazing Grace.”   As I stood there listening to my daughter sing her heart song, my mind went back to 17 years ago…I was a new mother with a precious newborn baby.  She would have been 3 months old.  There were nights when neither of us got much sleep and I would walk the floor with her on my shoulder.  She would be crying and I would be singing in her ear to quiet her. 

baby corynn

“ Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound…

    that saved a wretch like me…

       I once was lost, and now am found…

          was blind, but now I see…”

As a new mother, my eyes had been opened to the wonders of life through this precious child.  Life would never be the same again.  It had taken on new meaning and so did the song.  Growing up I never thought about being a mother, after all, I WAS a tomboy with the nickname of “HUCK.”  Shhh…don’t tell anybody!  My Uncle called me “Huckleberry Finn.”  LOL.  I never realized how much giving life would change me. 

Change me it did!

I stood there, in awe and in reverence of our Creator God.  His hand is always weaving that scarlet thread through our lives, even when we don’t see it.  He was breathing Truth into my newborn’s ears at the very beginning of her life and here, 17 years later, she is breathing it out because of what HE has done in her life!  Hallelujah! Praise the Lord! Jump up and down!

As I watched and listened, I caught my breath, wiped my eyes,  and just let out a huge sigh of THANKSGIVING to God.  Corynn asked me one day why I always cry when anyone mentions the name of Jesus….I laughed and told her that when she became a mom she would understand.   When we begin to realize how far we’ve come and how much God has done in our lives, and the lives of our children,  we can’t help but get misty eyed.  My tears are of joy for what HE has done-and they are like a silent offering of thanks and joy to God the Father.  He catches them in His nail scarred palms and holds them there forever. 

 

 

Evan is not our son, but he might as well be!  I was listening to him as he was sharing his passion and I thought about how he would be going off to school soon.  Look out Liberty!  We are going to miss him so much!!!!!!!  He brings energy, passion and life into a room and I know that God is using him to change lives.    It won’t be long after that Corynn will be going to college too.  Phew…Lord give us strength and endurance for the road ahead.  I can’t believe the time is so near…and parents of young children…cherish every moment-it goes by way too fast! 

I thank God for these two young people.  I admire the way that they serve God with all their soul, all their strength and all their might.  Please pray blessings over them as they continue to listen and do the work of God. 

Blessings for your week!

d.

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Yep, they are amazing ! Being a Mom changes everything for sure, the way you look at everything. Our little Corynn, I remember that picture and I have one where she is “waving” bye-bye [ just months old ] to grandma and grandpa from inside the house at the window as we were leaving in the truck from Portsmouth. Seems a LONG time ago but has only been 17 short years.
    Our choir is practicing this song, Amazing Grace, My Chains Are Gone….we love it. It is difficult to sing but we are “gettin” it.
    Patty McKenzie joined our church yesterday [guitar girl and great singer ] we are blessed to have her as a member of our church.

Leave a Reply

