Prayer Walking

Standard

Yesterday I attended a prayer walk.  Some people gathered to sing, pray and prayer walk through Hillsville.  During this time a man of GOD, a Spirit filled man, got up and read scripture, prayed and then blew the shofar.  Well, as soon as he started to read scripture and explain what he was reading, you knew the Spirit of the Lord was on him.  I can’t even explain it in words.  When he prayed it was if God was in the room and He was doing the praying.  He blew the shofar is such a way that I believed Jesus was at the door.  It was surreal. 

After he did that, anointing was offered and I stood up to receive mine.  I was anointed on my right ear, my right thumb and my right foot. 

Here is what scripture says:

 Lev 14:14 “The priest shall take some of the blood of the trespass offering, and the priest shall put it on the tip of the right ear of him who is to be cleansed, on the thumb of his right hand, and on the big toe of his right foot.

We were anointed on the ear so that we may hear what God was saying to us as we were walking and praying. 

We were anointed on the thumb so that we may use our gifts to serve others.  We are to use our hands to serve, help and heal others.

We were anointed on the foot so that we may walk in the ways of God. 

Here is a link for further study:  http://www.sermoncentral.com/sermons/the-three-anointings-in-the-bible-bill-burnett-sermon-on-holy-spirit-in-believers-98154.asp

I had been given an opportunity to meet, sing, pray and walk with people from all over Southwest Virginia over my town.  My little town of Hillsville, Va.!  They came from Roanoke, Wytheville and Mount Airy.  I am a blessed woman who lives in a town that is constantly seeking Christ as their Savior.  I see movements of God everywhere, not just in my church, but in myself and in other people and other congregations.   Sometimes those movements are ever so tiny, but they are there.  Earlier in the week,  I was reading a commentary by Matthew Henry and he said that Jesus reveals himself to us in degrees.  Bit by bit.  Some small, some large.  He gives us time to ponder, pray, debate and even to doubt until we are sure of a thing by HIS clearing it up!   People come to know Christ in stages.  I know I did.  This has reminded me to continually look at the bits that are moving toward God and not the chunks that aren’t.  We must focus on the light.  I was reminded of that several times throughout the day yesterday.  While our hearts break for those who don’t know the Lord, our souls can soar for the tiny bits and pieces that God is putting together.  I must be an optimist in this world and I must trust that GOD is working to bring triumph over evil.  I am merely an ear, a thumb and a foot in this work.  I must listen, serve and move. 

Wow. 

Thank you praying family, thank you.  Your words, your deeds, your hearing and your movement have restored my HOPE in this dark world. 

d.

 

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

2 responses »

  1. Your blog is like a breath of fresh air, for which I am so very thankful. It makes my heart feel warm and cozy to know you, to read your blogs, see the evidence of Gods love shining through you, so very inspiring!! Love and Blessings!
    Ann

Leave a Reply

