Granny Jewel’s art box

Standard

101_2054

This art box was given to me by some very special friends.  It was their Granny’s.  Her name was Jewel and she liked to paint.  She especially loved to paint Jesus.

101_2059

This is the picture she used for reference when painting her beloved Savior.

They gave this to me also. 

I never knew Granny Jewel personally, but I don’t think I need to.  We share a lot of the same things.  A love for Christ and for painting.  The first time I saw her paintings I was very moved by the colors and I also thought, “wow, now there’s someone who thinks like me.”  There is a particular painting that I especially love that is at their Momma’s house.  They know the one.  This one speaks to my heart and I know that Granny Jewel and I would have loved each other at first sight.  It’s funny, but when I look at her things I miss her.  How can you miss someone you’ve never met?  I can’t explain it, but I do know that we are kindred spirits. 

101_2056

Here are all of her tubes of paint.  When I go out to do chalk drawings for other churches I always take a yellow tube of paint from this box with me.  It reminds me of Granny Jewel and I chose the color yellow because it shines like Christ!    Let your light shine!  d. 

John 3:16  (MSG) “This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one need be destroyed; by believing in him, anyone can have a whole and lasting life.”

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

