A snowy day

Standard

I went outside this morning to shovel some snow and my hubby came out to rescue me.  While he was giving me a break I flew inside and got my trusty camera!  I love taking pictures in the snow.  Emily does too!  She had been out earlier and had snapped up 80 or so pictures herself!  Yes, we love our cameras! 

So, here is what I discovered in the snow…

Awesome tree silhouettes!  Anybody who knows me well knows how much I like trees!

101_1991

Like people, trees each have something to “say…” 

they reach for the sky-yearning for the sun…

101_1993

no two are alike…some fat….

 

some skinny…

101_1994

 

and some straight…

101_1995

yet they all reach for the sky where the source of Life lives…

101_1998

God gave the tree a special purpose when he spoke it into existence…

 

101_1997

It was the place where life would have victory over death…a crossroad.

101_2002

It was a place where he would hear His beloved Son pleading with him in these words…

101_2003

 

“Father, forgive them,

for they know not what they do…”

101_1989

All while he was dying…His last words were for us…you and me! 

You see the tree was created for an eternal  purpose and that purpose has been fulfilled.   It has shared the love of a Father for His Son as he became a carpenter.  It housed the son, shaded the son and gave the son life.  Today it stands tall and tells the story of love.  It also provides a bridge for you and I to walk across so that we may reach the place where love resides.  It is a bridge over troubled waters.  Waters that could kill you if there were no bridge.  Jesus Christ is that bridge and when he stretched his arms across that span of wood he was providing a way for you to reach the Father.  THIS is what I see when I look upon a tree-any and all trees.  I see Jesus stretched out among the limbs-arms high and wide and I hear him calling to the world, “come a little closer now, you can do it, I’m right here waiting for you,  don’t be afraid little one, take my hand and we’ll walk this road together,  I’ll keep you safe.” 

John 5:24 says, “ “Very truly I tell you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be judged but has crossed over from death to life.”

Today it is my prayer that you have crossed over the bridge of love from death to life.  The way is clear and it’s nearer to you than you might think.

Go ahead and take that first step…

New creation

I hope you know how much He loves you…

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

3 responses »

  1. You are so inspiring Donna!! love the tree photos. Gods handy work never fails to amaze me, any time of the year. He has certainly blessed you my friend, with all your talents. Thank you for sharing them!

Leave a Reply

