Oil and lampstands

Standard

Zechariah 4

Olive Tree-Lampstand

 

The lampstand is lit and eyes are in the flames-the seven eyes are God’s eyes looking over the earth searching for those who love him. 

Do you love him?

The golden cup is the bowl that holds the oil.

  The “blue” oil is the Holy Spirit.

It fills the two trees standing beside the lampstand tree.

These two trees are God’s messengers that are being filled with the Holy Spirit.  They are rooted in it at all times.  They hold up the Word of God to the world-preaching the salvation message to all who have ears to hear and eyes to see.  The oil drips on them from above- a constant anointing. 

The sword is a reminder that we must be sharpened in God’s Word and ready for battle.  It must fill us from head to toe and live inside of our hearts.  We must be wise and precise with our instructions-just as a swordsman is when he uses his weapon. 

The plumb line is a reminder that we need to be in line with God and that we can do nothing without Him.   

In the sky over the tree you see the Big Dipper.  it is in the pouring position right now. That was brought to my attention the other day.  I thought that was interesting in light of this drawing…God is pouring out his love all around us in creation.  Can we see it?  Do we give God the credit for it?  We should.  He yearns for His creation to know who He is. 

Do you?

 

Zechariah 4
The Gold Lampstand and the Two Olive Trees
Zechariah 4
The Lord’s House Will Be Rebuilt

1The angel who was speaking with me returned and woke me up as one might wake up someone who is sleeping. 2He asked me, “What do you see?”

   I answered, “I see a solid gold lamp stand with a bowl on top and seven lamps on it. There are seven spouts for each lamp that is on top of it. 3There are also two olive trees beside it, one on the right of the bowl and the other on its left.”

4I asked the angel who was speaking with me, “What do these things mean, sir?”

5Then the angel asked me, “Don’t you know what they mean?”

   “No, sir,” I answered.

6Then he replied, “This is the word the Lord spoke to Zerubbabel: You won’t succeed by might or by power, but by my Spirit, says the Lord of Armies. 7What a high mountain you are! In front of Zerubbabel you will become a plain. He will bring out the topmost stone with shouts of ‘Blessings, blessings on it!’ ”

8Then the Lord spoke his word to me. He said, 9“Zerubbabel’s hands have laid the foundation of this house, and his hands will finish it. Then you will know that the Lord of Armies has sent me to you.10Who despised the day when little things began to happen? They will be delighted when they see the plumb line in Zerubbabel’s hand. (These seven eyes of the Lord roam over all the earth.)”

11I asked the angel, “What do these two olive trees at the right and the left of the lamp stand mean?” 12Again I asked him, “What is the meaning of the two branches from the olive trees next to the two golden pipes that are pouring out gold?”

13He asked me, “Don’t you know what these things mean?”

   “No, sir,” I answered.

14So he said, “These are the two anointed ones who are standing beside the Lord of the whole earth.”

My question to you tonight is this:

Where are YOU standing and

what are you filled with?

 

About godw1nz

I am the mom of three beautiful daughters, wife to a genius, sister to a teacher, sis-in-law to an engineer, daughter to a yankee and a rebel, and a woman chasing God. I love to read, draw and be with my family. If the reading inspires me, then I draw what I read. Almost everything I draw is based around or about Jesus Christ. I attend church at First United Methodist Hillsville. Ronnie Collins is my associate pastor, also a blogger here. I love the Lord with all my heart and I hope what you see here will inspire your heart.

One response »

  1. Thank YOU, LORD, for the works YOU are doing in Donna’s life! Thank YOU for Your love and gifts of color and creativity!
    Thank you, Donna, for the ‘Oil and lampstands’ picture..
    Our church (not Methodist) has a ‘Twice Fed’ group… Bible study & dinner afterward for our inner city neighborhood friends…Our pastor teaches the adults…our Youth Pastor teaches a younger group…a young man teaches the teen boy group…I teach 5th – 8th grade girls. The children are taught from the same Bible passages the pastor is using for the adults.
    This week we studied Zechariah 4…I needed a picture to describe the vision of 4:2&3… and found your painting. Thank you! It really helped! I also read what was written under the picture to my students…It was a good thing! It really made a difficult lesson much easier!

    I loved what our Lord said to you about painting like a child…so cool & like Him!! Painting has really been on my mind lately… need to get going on it…would like to use it to illustrate pictures for my Sunday school & Twice Fed lessons. Will have the girls draw more too!
    Thank you for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

